Ode To Smoky Bars - My Entry in the ODE CHALLENGE

in #poetry7 years ago


Ode To Smoky Bars

O smoky bars! O smoky bars!
I miss your hazy halls;
I miss the ashes on my hands,
Your dingy, grimy walls.

Your smoke never upset, in fact
I let it in my lungs.
You helped my friends to open up,
You untied all our tongues.

I long for karaoke nights
To sing and smoke and drink,
With comfy clouds cascading round,
Too thick to even think.

Alas! One day you vanished
Suddenly by stroke of pen.
I dissipated, like those clouds
Of smoke that once had been.

I do recall you often, fondly
When I'm at a bar,
Remembering the best times as
I smoke out by my car.


This is my entry in @japhofin8or's #odechallenge. This is a great contest! Writing an ode is a great little exercise, and as we all know, supporting contests is one of the best ways to support Steemit! You can win some money, make some friends, and explore the depths of your creativity! Win Win Win!

HERE's the link to The Ode Challenge! Check it out, the topic is Social Interaction.


Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @chrisroberts to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Well that's pretty cool... Thanks!!

you are welcome, steem on!

Once again, a similar idea! I'd change mine but I'm already in the middle of writing it. It's fine though, mine has no smoke in it. Really good! It made me think of times gone by, friends scattered to the winds, and the relatively damaged health of my lungs.

LOL Are you inside my head?

I'll bet a lot of minds would go to bars when given the topic social interaction, but there are a million different ways to spin it. I've got some poems about social networking but I wanted to go the more real route. Plus I wanted to write something new. These contests are such a great exercise.

Poems about social networking? That's not something you hear everyday! How did that happen?

Absolutely! Let me give you an example...

Avatars of ignorance
Are prancing 'round my screen,
I see a lot of what they say
But none of what they mean.
The truth is not subjective,
It's just hiding in between
The comments on somebody's latest blog.

Social networking is one of the most interesting things that's ever happened to the world. I could probably write a million poems about it. :D

Wow, it does work really well. I have to agree with you on that one, social networking, social interaction, the building of cliques and the like - That's a subject I'll never get tired of either. I wouldn't have thought of approaching it through poetry, however. A bit close-minded of me, to be honest.

That's just the way I operate. When something doesn't make sense to me no matter how much I think about it, or something is just frustrating to no end, my brain writes little rhymes about it.

That is awesome!! Not only a tribute but a memorial to a time now gone. Powerful stuff guy. Well thought and presented. Great write!

Thank you so much! I was pretty pleased with the way this one turned out. I found myself feeling a little sad remembering those times. I don't even smoke any more.

Great ode! I remember the days before smoking bans. Bars had a much better atmosphere then.

Thanks! LOL I'm not even a smoker anymore, but it's nice to reminisce.

You are an incredible lyricist. Well done. I don't think my first was actually an ode. I'm going to give it another go.

Thanks! As long as you're praising the topic, it's an ode. A true ode is meant to be sung, I guess. @carrieallen looked it up.

My odes are always going to be the same form, as I'm a creature of habit and rhythm. I love starting with the letter O.

Oh, very cool!

I noticed the second person requirement, or tradition maybe -

Oh great thing how much I love you
To your nice ways I'll always be true
You make me feel like a new man
When your thing and stuff touches my hand.

Great poem, but I don't miss those smoky places! Lol! I remember taking my brother-in-law from Scotland to one because he loves participating in karaoke. I had to keep going outside to get gulps of fresh air. 😱😱

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64105.03
ETH 2757.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66