Landlords and Rent - 2 Limericks! - The Daily Limerick #23

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

Good morning! It's #dailylimerick time!

DailyLimerickThumb.jpg


If you're just now joining us, the #dailylimerick is a challenge I've been issuing myself daily. Not only am I trying to keep my writing chops primed, but I needed a lesson in discipline and consistency with regard to Steemit. It is my intention to post a limerick every day, indefinitely.


I take topic requests! Today, I'm responding to a request from @ecoinstant, who suggested that I limerick about Looking for a Home, or Buying a Home. So 'ere we go!


Renting vs. Buying

I'm thinking a limerick a day (41).jpg

With the uncertain future of the dollar, it's true. I'd rather take every penny that I would invest in owning a home, and invest it in Steem instead. It's funny. I used to think of my rent money as being thrown away or wasted. Now I know... Fiat begets shelter. Crypto begets crypto.


My landlord

I'm thinking a limerick a day (42).jpg

It's been a great six years in our current rental. Our landlord is a nice guy; he's stayed out of our business, and he's never raised rent on us, even as costs of living all around us have doubled in that time. The tradeoff? We have no carpet, the electricity is terrible, there are plumbing problems and our heater doesn't work. We're ready for something better, but when we move, we'll probably have to pay three times as much for rent. No biggie, we're just using the cheap rent time we have left to invest and Steem!


There you go, Alex! Thanks for participating in my #dailylimerick. Alex has been commenting with limericks of his own, and I love that! Well-written comment-limericks will always earn an SBD reward from me personally.





Sort:  

It's hard to find a new home
For you and your friend Jerome
I feel for you mate
There's much on your plate
After having a bad flu syndrome

But never give up looking
One day you will be cooking
In a safe house
With gnome and spouse
And no more hooking and crooking

Lot's of luck with finding a nice new home, I'm sure the right one will eventually show up :) Thanks a lot for your limericks, they always make my day!
So you have a great day as well :)

Cool! A double-limerick, and all for me! :D Thanks

We had a sweet little home,
With a sweet little loan,
We thought better yet,
We can drop all this debt,
We opted for a wheeled abode,
And hit the long winding road,
Some thought we were whack,
But we never look back,
Because there is so much joy to find,
When you leave the rat race behind :)

That's a great little poem! I'm very familiar with that lifestyle. Ironically, I left the rat race years ago, and now I'm kinda trying to get back into it. :) We really just want a comfortable house to live in and the means to Steem.

Give the landlord his pay
And that without delay
Cos' one day,you'll buy a home
And never ever have to roam
Perhaps it will be somewhere close to bay.

Nice rhyming! Your AABBA rhyme scheme is right on, but the rhythm and number of syllables also count in a limerick.

Here is a decent article on how to write a limerick. You'll be limericking like a champ in no time!

Still learning
Thanks friend!

@originalworks really nice and thanks for share

I don't think I know how to make limericks but yours are enjoyable to read. It's about homes, and I've always been kinda interested in properties. :D

Thanks! Limericks aren't that hard. You can do it :)

I do different topics every day. Today's new one: Three Limericks about Candy
Thanks for stopping by!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57889.68
ETH 2457.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40