Five Thanksgiving Limericks

in #poetry6 years ago


Thanksgiving is one week away! I simply cannot wait for all the delicious food, lazy days and turkey leftovers for the remainder of the winter. And pie! I want all the pies.


I know not many countries actually celebrate Thanksgiving as a national holiday, but that doesn't mean you international steemers can't enjoy my tasty Thanksgiving-themed limericks! I think a holiday for focusing on simple thankfulness is pretty cool.


Our friend @Lymmerik has set up a Thanksgiving-themed Lymmerik's Limerick Contest this week! Over-achiever that I am, when I sat down to write a limerick, five limericks were the result.


Anyway, here they are.


  1. Don't go to the store in November,
    This lesson I pray you remember:
    They come out in droves
    When they must use their stoves,
    You'll be waiting in line 'til December.

  2. I'm turkied and cranberry sauced,
    With buttery rolls, thickly glossed,
    Those sugary yams,
    The salty spiced hams...
    Adherence to diet is lost.

  3. I'm thankful for all that I see.
    The good and the bad, and that tree.
    The stars in the sky,
    And hot pecan pie,
    Damn it feels good to be me.

  4. That time that the turkeys fought back
    Was clearly a plotted attack.
    They marched to their freedom
    And none could defeat 'em,
    Their war flags were orange, brown and black.

  5. Thanksgiving is always a treat,
    The once-a-year family greet.
    There's not much to say
    For this Holiday,
    You're meant to just shut up and eat.


Now it would be great if y'all could help me out by telling me in the comments which you liked the best. I have a few days to decide which one to enter in the contest. Competition is fierce. Thanks!


take it easy.png

Sort:  

Number 1 for sure.

Alrighty! Thanks for commenting.

Love them all, but I definitely resonate with #3!! Have a great Thanksgiving to all our US friends! Blessings from me in Nova Scotia!

Ah, the serious one...
I might like that one the best as well. Thanks for weighing in!

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 47.0% @rocky1 upgoat, thanks to @chrisroberts
It consists of $5.62 vote and $1.87 curation
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @chrisroberts to be original material and upvoted(1.5%) it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

I have TWO faves...

But if I HAVE to choose ... 😯🔫

#2!!!

Cranberry sauced! Excellent choice!

follow and vote me please

We have a saying in the UK - Turkey's don't vote for Christmas. But I love the idea of them fighting back - No. 4 for me!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65916.61
ETH 3431.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.66