ANNOUNCING: Lymmerik's Thanksgiving Limerick Contest!

in #contest7 years ago

ANNOUNCING: LYMMERIK'S THANKSGIVING LIMERICK CONTEST!

This Week There are Some Changes to the JUDGING PROCESS.

SO, PLEASE READ THE RULES & THE JUDGING PROCESS!

Failure to follow the rules will disqualify your entry.

Lymmerik Tgiving contest.png

Image Credit

What is a Limerick?

A limerick is a humorous poem consisting of five lines. The first, second, and fifth lines must have seven to ten syllables while rhyming and having the same verbal rhythm. The third and fourth lines only have to have five to seven syllables and must to rhyme with each other and have the same rhythm. A limerick can be on the raunchy side as well. There is a distinct rhythmic cadence to a limerick, so mind your rhyme.

Divider.png

How Do I Write a Limerick?

The first line sets up the character(s) and setting of the poem so the reader knows right away who/what the story is about. Line and Rhyme. Only five lines long, limerick poems have an AABBA rhyme scheme, which means the first, second, and last lines rhyme while the third and fourth lines rhyme.

Divider.png

Where Does the Word Limerick Come From?

Limericks (1903) THE origin of the term Limerick, as applied to a certain form of a five-line stanza, seems to be as yet undiscovered. A statement was recently made that this stanza is so-called because it was invented by Edward Lear, and that he was born in Limerick, Ireland. William Shakespeare used the limerick's rhythm in Stephano's drinking song in The Tempest, as well as in Othello and King Lear. Yet it wasn't until the early 1700s that soldiers returning from the continent-wide War of the Spanish Succession brought the limerick form Ireland.

Divider.png

Example Limerick By: @Lymmerik

Rhythmic Cadence

There once was a Turkey Day Contest,

Where the winner would make out the best,

So go forth and try

A Turkey You'll fry

And remember there's a Rhyth-mic Cadence!


There is a definite rhythmic cadence to a Limerick, read my example Limerick above, YOUR Limerick should follow a similar rhythmic flow.

Divider.png

This contest is open to all Steemians!

Divider.png

The Theme

Write Your Original Limerick About A Thanksgiving Day Fiasco in Your Family!

Divider.png

The Rules

  • Write an Original Limerick about the above Theme and post it with these tags; the first tag should be #contest and and the second tag should be #lymmerikslimericks.

  • Plus three other tags of your choice, (I suggest that poetry be one of them, but that is your call.) Here are the tags I chose: #contest #lymmerikslimericks #poetry #writing #busy you can copy and paste them if you want. (contest lymmerikslimericks poetry writing busy).

  • Only ONE (1) Entry per Steemian.

  • You MUST Reply to this post with a link to your post. (Sometimes my tag #lymmerikslimericks does not recieve or hold the post tag long enough, some glitch I suppose)

  • UPVOTE this post.

  • RESTEEM this post. (You May Follow @Lymmerik, But It Is NOT a Requirement).

  • You may NOT use the word Nantucket! No Seriously!

  • ALL ENTRIES WILL BE JUDGED ON THE RHYTHMIC CADENCE OF THE LIMERICK, WIT, HUMOR, AND CREATIVITY.

  • Entries must be posted and must be placed in the comments below no later than Midnight MST (Phoenix Arizona Time), Friday November 17, 2017. Below is your countdown timer!

That's it, simple rules! But following me, @Lymmerik, is okay too!

Divider.png

The Prizes

There will be 3 prizes awarded.

1st Place - 7$ SBD

2nd Place - 5$ SB

3rd Place - 3$ SBD

Divider.png

Contest Judging

I, (@Lymmerik), will judge the entries and choose the entry with the best Rhythmic Cadence, the best wit, the most original, and the most humorous of the entries.

I will not be commenting on each entry as it comes in this week, as I want to read the Limericks and judge as unbiasedly as I can.

I will be having a close friend print the entries out without the author's name included in the printout. I am following @jonknight's lead on this one! I want this contest to be FAIR and UNBIASED.

Divider.png

The winners will be announced and the Prizes awarded on Sunday Evening, November 19, 2017.

Divider.png

Thank you for participating in Lymmerik's Thanksgiving Limerick Contest!

@Lymmerik

This contest is running a little short in time this week. There will not be a contest next week as I will be spending some time with my parents for the holiday. We will resume the contest the week following Thanksgiving.

Happy Thanksgiving!

Lymmerik Fish Logo2.png

Lymmerik-Particles1_1-(Converted) (1).gif

Sort:  

I'm waaaayyyy too excited by this... :D

I have written a plethora of limericks once again... I made five. I've got a post up now with all five of them, but I have yet to decide which is the gem I shall enter. I like the anonymous judging system. Stay tuned!

@chrisroberts,
The only thing I don’t like is that I can’t upvote and resteem the entries, as I usually.
@Lymmerik

As a Brit I'll have to skip over the whole Thanksgiving thing! I'm sure I can find some other meal disaster to report on though! Thanks for the gift last time out too!

@g-force1980,
Oops, I guess I should have realized that the whole world is here on Steemit! Yes, you can write about another meal disaster that you are thankful for. Lol
You are most welcome my friend.
@Lymmerik

@janine-ariane,
Thanks for the entry, however I am not reading them until I judge them on Sunday.
@Lymmerik

No problem, now it can leave my head. 😁

@knottygirl,
Thanks for your entry, however I am not reading the entries until I judge them on Sunday.
@Lymmerik

Congratulations @lymmerik! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Hello, everyone,
I am experiencing some computer issues. I will be back soon, I am working on it. Please be patient with me. Thanks in advance.
@Lymmerik

A Fiasco, huh?
Check this out...

Turkey Shoot

Good Luck Everybody!

@jonknight,
Oh, crap! Can't wait.
Thanks for the entry
@lymmerik

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58522.98
ETH 3089.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41