Facebook "Shadow Ban" - The Daily Limerick #30

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Good morning, enemies of Facebook!

farmto table (10).jpg

Seriously. Did you realize that Facebook thinks of you as their enemy? As a member of Steem, you are a threat to their very existence. They really want you to see their memes, hear their version of the news and get bent out of shape at their take on political issues.


They'd like you to think that antagonism is the natural tendency of social networking, but they've pitted everyone against each other with their social experiments. Don't believe their lies.


goteam.png


For today's #dailylimerick, I wrote a little rhyme about one of my favorites of the ridiculous new terms that were invented in 2017.

The Shadow Ban

I'm thinking a limerick a day (55).jpg


What is a shadow-ban? It's a ban that's not a ban. I'm allowed to post, but no one sees my stuff. The same is true of my wife, @carrieallen. We've tried a variety of experiments in order to determine the degree to which we are muted and banned.


I get it. They're mostly concerned with people advertising for a competing social network. But I wish they could understand, I just want a few more people to hear my songs, stories and poems. I have about 500 "friends" on Facebook, and I get zero interaction or impressions on my posts. I'm proud of the creations I've made exclusively for Steemit, but it seems their views will be limited excusively to Steemians.


Fight censorship in all its forms!




Sort:  

You've basic'ly described the Matrix,
Facebook management sure seem like dicks.
If the shadow ban clan
stands, on steemit, my man,
We'll greet them with all sorts of neat tricks!

(like the power of an inmutable blockchain!)

It's totally true. Several months ago, after joining Steemit, we noticed a big drop in interactions. Sure, our political leanings aren't in line with Facebook...but we never really posted about politics....
I'm not sure how to bypass the algorithm and get seen. I think at this point we are totally blocked...unless I come out or have a baby or get a new job ( I think those words DO override the algorithm).

Oh, well. What ya gonna do?

Steem. All day. 😎

I've noticed this too. The only place on Facebook I've been able to discuss steemit is on a crypto traders group. All of my other posts and comments never get seen unless it's a picture of our kids. I'm with you, steem all day!! 💗

Steemit all year! I am so excited to be able to go through the whole year, 2018!

I have 5k followers in fb and I do not get anything I do not know what to say about it

LOL I know the feeling, though I don't have as many as you. All I use FB for anymore is getting updates from crypto-trading groups.

Me too. You can't even watch a video on fb anymore without an ad being jammed in the middle. F That. 😑

I'm linking to your post in my new article about Alex Jones who was banned from Facebook, YouTube, Apple, Spotify, etc, like me, like millions of people, or actually beyond that, much worse than that as well.

Thanks for fighting for free speech! :D

Glad you found my old Shadow Ban post helpful!

Facebook don't care about you or me!
This is truly as sad as can be!
No worries,
Steemit cares and awards you and me!
Steemit is truly the Caring Social Network! It is changing lives and giving People hope! Your Friend @extraterrestrial :)

Man, that sucks.

I'm not a big fan of Facebook, I never liked it that much, but I can totally understand why you'd want to share your art with the people who are, at least in theory, close to you.

It's unfair, but I think it speaks volumes about the potential of Steemit.

I never really used them in first place other than contact with family. I have had issues in the past sharing Steemit with them to the point I just did it elsewhere.

It is sad they think they can just hide and use tactics like this so the word does not get out. They for sure are not trying protect their own user base but trying keep them inside the walled garden of nonsense and data mining.

At least these kind of actions tend to make people realize just how bad they can be and want to jump out of their window to escape. Shadow bans are a clever way of dealing with troublemakers but this kind of usage is just abuse.

You got a 18.42% upvote from @upmyvote courtesy of @chrisroberts!
If you believe this post is spam or abuse, please report it to our Discord #abuse channel.

If you want to support our Curation Digest or our Spam & Abuse prevention efforts, please vote @themarkymark as witness.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58225.92
ETH 3120.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50