Daily poetry: Improvisation on a Godly View / Une vision d'amour (English - français) (with photo)

in #poetry6 years ago

Back when I was a young adult (around two decades ago), my paternal aunt gave me a copy of The Prophet during one of our meetings. "Read it as soon as you can. This author will change your life," she said.

At home that same evening, I opened the book to a random page. It was the beginning of the second chapter. My eyes fell on the following words:

"When love beckons to you, follow him,
Though his ways are hard and steep." (The Prophet).

A bolt of lightning hit me. I was mesmerized and started shivering. It was one of the most profound pieces of wisdom I had ever read!

I cannot tell you how many times I have reread Gibran's masterpiece. But his words continue to guide my life. I would not be the person I am today without them.

Gibran considered Love as a purifying act of spiritual awakening. I wrote the piece below with that concept in mind...

IMPROVISATION ON A GODLY VIEW

I love watching you sleep.
I love watching you live.
Your body is the map of love
And what I see is angelic.
Let me drown in your fantasy.
Let me embrace your aura.
Everything about you is magic.
If I dare kiss your lips,
My mind will lose itself.
If I dare look into your eyes,
My heart will stop beating.
The essence of your beauty
Is too much for me to handle.
God gave me you to adore –
I shall bear that cross of silk.
After all, when such loveliness
Crosses my path, I can’t help
But wonder why it should be so.
Yet when rightful souls meet
They should celebrate life.
And that’s what I want to do with you!

I love watching you sleep.
I love watching you live.

©2007 Cendrine Marrouat

UNE VISION D'AMOUR

J’aime te regarder dormir,
Observer les instants de ta vie.
Ton corps est une carte d’amour
Où règne l’angélisme.
Je voudrais me noyer dans tes rêves
Et embrasser ton effluve.
Tout en toi respire la magie.
Je n’ose toucher tes lèvres,
Car mon esprit se perdrait.
Je n’ose contempler ton regard,
Car mon cœur pourrait s’arrêter.
L’essence de ta beauté
Fait ombrage à la clarté de mes pensées.
Dieu t’a offert à moi en cadeau –
Et je souhaite porter cette croix à jamais.
Après tout, quand de tels charmes
Se rencontrent, il faut comprendre
Leur raison profonde.
Et quand deux âmes prêtes à aimer s’unissent,
Alors, la vie devient une fête.
C’est cela que je veux de nous !

J’aime te regarder dormir,
Observer les instants de ta vie.

©2009 Cendrine Marrouat

Fall 2015 6 scaled.jpg

CategoryNature photography
SettingsISO 200, f/6.3, 1/500s
CameraCanon EOS REBEL T3i
LensCanon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 @ 28mm
LocationWinnipeg, Canada

Do you know that I have released five collections of poetry? Five Years and Counting. A Journey into the Mind of Soul Poetry is my latest one. For more information on the book, click the image below:

Book Cover front.jpg


If you liked this post, leave a comment and share it! Thank you!


See my photography, books and limited-edition prints for sale by clicking the image below:

Cendrine Marrouat Large scaled.jpg

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64550.89
ETH 3156.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30