How I Broke My Collarbone {An Original Sonnet}

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

This poem is to memorialise a young man, Jason Prentice, who took his own life, many years ago, in the street shown in the picture. I only met him a handful of times but I was shocked and saddened by his actions.


ReflectionsSculptureBedfordNight

Image

How I broke My Collarbone


Oh no way I’d submit to being caught!
(Tipsy kiss chase-twas no idea of mine.)
His slobbery kiss-I shuddered at the thought.
I bobbed and weaved; he lumbered asinine.

A turn too fast and legs derailed by drink:
Damp grass and fear conspired to bring me down.
A run in with a tree will make you think,
Thank God I never cracked it with my crown!

My colour drained far paler than the moon
And sickening pain it struck me cold and still
But better than a tryst with a buffoon,
Fates slapstick way to satisfy my will.

Fast forward to observe his sombre plight,
He’s swinging in the street of silver light.

Sort:  

If anyone else says nice poem I'm going to be sick!! A difficult subject to tackle indeed @cathi-xx. Top notch imagery and a great rhythm until the poem suddenly stops!! ... almost like the act of suicide itself. I'd happily read this as a eulogy. Your words are getting more condensed and stronger over time. Your also an improving poet getting well into her stride now. Impressed! Upvoted and RS. 8/10 :) @mindhunter

Lol! Thanks, the last two lines were tough but I felt that I couldn't write about the incident without including what he went on to do a few years later, even though I wasn't kind about him in the main poem but hey, it's how I felt at age 18.

He hung himself from a lamppost in Silver Street.

Poor laddie. May he rest peace. Let me know when you take up the quill again?? Ha ha! @gonzo got me on the 'nice poem' comment! ;)

Ahhh how we felt at 18...

[Insert #1 Steemit poetry critic here - it's acerbic work baby!] Love you @gonzo :)

Ha ha! [Insert Happy Easter @gonzo here] :)

Thanks @mindhunter

I hope you receive a lot of [Insert Noun Here] for Easter too :)

Nice poem @cathi-xx. I'm hoping this isn't inspired by a real incident. Otherwise, it would be very painful.

Sadly it's all true.

Ouch! That must've hurt a lot. Get well soon.

It happened in 1988 but thanks!

Oh! Thank God. I thought it was just recently. Silly me. I'm glad you're okay now.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58334.82
ETH 2595.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40