You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Caller (my translation of Oswaldo Acevedo's poem) Part II

in #poetry5 years ago

The simplest, most universal words and images are the ones that have the most impact. Somehow, a phrase this simple,
a boy that grew up playing marbles
speaks volumes to me. And this is epic:
I am the zodiac of evil
the summation of enigmas
I am that one. Yonder. The spilled mirror.

The spilled mirror!
What an image!
Poetry overwhelms my feeble brain, but not all of it is lost on me.
Thank you Henrry for translating these for us.

Sort:  

Surely someone at @curie will take notice of this worthy effort!

I second that @curie, it's bracing to read poetry of this scope and, especially, refreshing that it is in translation _/|\_

Certainly, @carolkean, beauty usually inhabits the simplest things and poetry in the simplest words. I appreciate your valuable comment on this poem that fellow @hlezama was kind enough to translate into English. Let's continue making art with our work in this great platform. Regards.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57410.43
ETH 2916.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67