The Caller (my translation of Oswaldo Acevedo's poem) Part II

in #poetry5 years ago (edited)

Greetigs, dear Steemians,
This is the second part of Oswaldo Acevedo's poem (you can check the first part here). Through this poem, he introduces himself and by doing it, he provides portraits where each one of us will see, even if fragmented, reflections of ourselves. Acevedo's poem takes us through a never-ending life cycle where all forms of life and all forms of beliefs coexist. I hope that in this #NewSteem era manual curators find Steemians such as @oacevedo and give them their due. I'll be transferring all rewards of these posts to the poet.

Source
Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

The Caller (cont.)

[I am] The one who disorders the islands
who swells the clouds
who tropics in the streets
I am the one who let others hurt him
that definition of oblivion                                                                                 75
he who fills the intellect
with wandering conjectures
he who objects the sentence
while hitting the self-taught spook
the one who remits the pages, and addresses them,                                   80
he who was kissed
and walked barefoot at dawn

Source

I am the ignorant artist
I am the one who drips into oblivion
who gets entangled in a fight with a crucible                                                  85
I am that extraordinary being
who read his memorial in the cascade
the one who wants to know
how much we should worry
about the University and its steps                                                                    90
I am that wood carver
that was reached by a stone
I am, how promptly the memory sails,
that one who migrated one thirtieth of November
the one who took his Heinz quota when he was little                                   95
a boy that grew up playing marbles
the one who now fulfills the sacred duty
of toasting with friends
I am —in another system— a Jupiter prodigy
an oriental monkey who believes in miracles                                                100
I am, fully asserted, a perpetual relic
I am, here you have me anointed,
he who looks down in shame
I am that Zephyrus of lime and speech
that comes and go blindly in the afternoon                                                     105
I am the zodiac of evil
the summation of enigmas
I am that one. Yonder. The spilled mirror.
Source
The one who evokes the heavens sooner
I who scurry into the night                                                                          110
who discovered the uncertainty
under the rain
oh, I, a wound acclaimed with honors
a thinker of gospels
a wild scholar after the breeze                                                                   115
I am, this is incredible,
the one who with all his quotidian nostalgias
can’t still make his lips say
how the globicorn loves
How do you associate this sadness?                                                          120
I am at any time of this time
he who preaches the Natural State
who names himself a stock of other voices
that trap of the tongue I am
an immense why in posterity                                                                      125
I am, and it is nice that I am,
a gradual grain of void
he who breathes in the mortal balm of the stars
I am, nail by nail, arc by arc, cup by cup,
one, duo and triune                                                                                      130
he who was biographied by the waves
he who once burned his manuscripts
I who possess the gift of contradictions
I the nakedness of the rock
the formation, the effect of the world                                                       135
this, sirs, who fare thee well
abbreviating again towards the Beginning.

(1996)
Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Source

Translator’s notes:

Line 73: "tropics". Verbalization of the noun 'tropical' (something that produces heat, torridity).
Line 119: “globicorn”, a made-up creature

Thanks for your visit

Logo Equipo Cardumen-reducido.png

Visítanos en: www.equipocardumen.com.ve

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

The simplest, most universal words and images are the ones that have the most impact. Somehow, a phrase this simple,
a boy that grew up playing marbles
speaks volumes to me. And this is epic:
I am the zodiac of evil
the summation of enigmas
I am that one. Yonder. The spilled mirror.

The spilled mirror!
What an image!
Poetry overwhelms my feeble brain, but not all of it is lost on me.
Thank you Henrry for translating these for us.

Surely someone at @curie will take notice of this worthy effort!

I second that @curie, it's bracing to read poetry of this scope and, especially, refreshing that it is in translation _/|\_

Certainly, @carolkean, beauty usually inhabits the simplest things and poetry in the simplest words. I appreciate your valuable comment on this poem that fellow @hlezama was kind enough to translate into English. Let's continue making art with our work in this great platform. Regards.

An ambitious effort, my new friend, on the part of poet and translator, evocative and rich in fruitful paradox. Thank you, both, for your literary gifts. _/|\_

Also, strangely fitting, that I should read this, today, on Nietzsche's birthday --who this sounds like a tribute, too, in parts:

"oh, I, a wound acclaimed with honors
a thinker of gospels
a wild scholar after the breeze
...
that trap of the tongue I am
an immense why in posterity 125
I am, and it is nice that I am,
a gradual grain of void
he who breathes in the mortal balm of the stars
...
he who was biographied by the waves
he who once burned his manuscripts
I who possess the gift of contradictions"

Hello, @yahialababidi, The caller is a poem I wrote with the intention of trying to explain, as far as possible, the Being that I am, with its attributes, its shortcomings and its contradictions.
It is not a text that I have written thinking of Nietzsche consciously, however I do not deny that I have spiritual ties with that great philosopher who has greatly influenced the history of Western culture.
Anyway, on this day when his birth is commemorated, I express here my admiration for this 'superman' who was 'too human'.
Regards.

Good day, @oacevedo. It's nice to hear from you and congratulations, again, on your fine work.

You have a large spirit and sing the human condition in your "Caller". Since art is the personal made Universal, your poem is a reminder that (to borrow Nietzschean terms) we are all Superhuman and also human-all-too-human...

This is the glory of being human and also what is humbling about it. Peace

Even when I can't imagine pretty well the English pronunciation of the poem (I'm spanish speaking) I think your translation is really great. Most of all I think is a great effort to share the great culture of Venezuela and as I notice of Cumaná where seems to be a place of great poets and writers. The poem is a vast travel for all the culture that we share, a visit to the depths of the soul and also a personal travel on the day by day. I need to be more close to @OAcevedo's work!!
There's lots of human values in this post. Can we find the Spanish version here on Steem?
A lots of hugs @HLezama, may the Good Winds be always with you in projects and life!!

Muy complacido con tu visita, @leveuf.
El texto en español esta disponible en el post de presentación de Acevedo (de hace casi dos años): https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@oacevedo/presentacion-y-texto-poetico

Es un texto rico en alusiones que dan para escribir muchos posts si se quisiera abordar el tema de las influencias, las religiones y algunas corrientes filosóficas que han regido nuestra existencia.
Dentro de poco estaremos publicando algunos poemas más en traducción de su obra más reciente. Me aseguraré de que se incluya la versión en español.
Gracias por la visita y muchas bendiciones

Muchas Gracias por el link a la presentación y poema @Hlezama. Ya fui a visitarlo. Estaré pendiente de esas traducciones tuyas al inglés, sin duda serán un aprendizaje sobre los detalles literarios en aquel idioma y una muy buena difusión de la obra de este poeta.
Van más abrazos y que venga sólo lo Bueno!!

Hi @hlezama!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.211 which ranks you at #9187 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 85 contributions, your post is ranked at #47.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61041.41
ETH 2947.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85