Waldo [Day 17]

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Waldo.png

there is a chicken
carcass in the alley,

a lost ugly ducking
who tumbled off the pallet

into a bed of satin,
frail dog on a kneeler,

sun stain around the neck
where a belt once said 'Waldo'.

z_divider.png

inspired by The Invisibles by @lazarus-wist.

Written for free-verse poetry maven @d-pend's revolutionary poetry initiative The 100 Day Poetry Challenge [Advanced Group] undertaken for Steemit School where @d-pend will be hosting a daily poetry show at 6 PM GMT.

thank you for the read
z_IOW_WM_BLACK.png
@isleofwrite logo design by @PegasusPhysics
header photo base was taken by CGP Grey and is CC2.0

Sort:  

I love this it has nice ring to it

I have to ask, but is this a reference to Ralph Waldo Emerson?

And if not, is this a joke about the owners who wonder where Waldo is? :P

Now, if we look back over your poetry from this period of time when you collate all of it for a post-challenge book, I'd call this era "The Hanging Couplet Era" or "The Non-Sequitur Era."

Is there actually a good reason that this poem is not 5 lines and then 3?
Is there an attempt to make it seem a bit more absurd, a bit more unclear, by way of leaving lines hanging?
Tying the fate of the chicken to the now-comfort of a dog who once knew home?

I like painting images in poems, but it should lead somewhere.

Though I see the way it's been inspired by @lazarus-wist, but really, this feels a bit phoned in.

(And you know I say these things because I care. If I didn't, I'd have said nothing.)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59043.03
ETH 2983.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72