You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What is good never lasts (ssp-intermediate-day4)

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

It was sooo great to hear this read, my friend, glad you did and we had some space there at the end!

Your opening stanza seriously sets this whole piece up:

"What is good never lasts"
I wrote this line in all my drafts
And everytime it gets deleted
I thought that's how it should be treated

In it you have both broken the fourth wall (a phrase meaning you've torn down the barrier between the reader and your reality) AND introduced the context of all that the reader is going to experience (foreshadowing).

Wanted to tell you those terms in case they weren't already in your poetic arsenal, my friend! Especially because you use them so well here.

It's true this is a dark piece, but I think it is a balancing edge of two sides of the same coin, and I think your first stanzas address brilliantly that there is a path (even if the narrator isn't taking it currently) to fight evil and maintain good, though it is a difficult and ever present challenge.

I really love this piece, my friend, I think it might be your best yet - still room to grow, but you're definitely making big strides in the right direction and it's awesome to see. Still can't believe English is your third language, you're killing it!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70434.55
ETH 3761.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84