You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Daily Poem! #1 - Welcome

in #poetry6 years ago

Wasn't at all ready for that turn, @bennettitalia, loved how everything led to such an ambitious finish.

During the early stage of the poem, when you set out to establish the differences between belonging and familiarity, I was particularly struck by these lines:

Insults worn so smooth
Through repetitive use
That their meaning is blunted.

So often I come across vernacular used by myself or my friends that I have never stopped to truly evaluate, and which, when I do, I find myself disappointed with the true meaning and edge.

Really struck a thoughtful chord in my, Bennett, thank you for the share.

Sort:  

Thanks @carmalain7! Great feedback, I'm particularly glad to know that the ending was surprising :)

I'm fascinated by those moments of cognitive dissonance in my own internal experience, when I thought I understood the meaning of a thing, but it turns out to be something very different. Having a little bit of that right now, clearly :D

I can't get enough of that moment when confusion manifests epiphany, which to me is the essence of poetry.

As for the part about insults, it's interesting, that came to me last, after the straitjacket and the seat on the bus. I wanted a kind of cruelty that could become familiar, be woven into the fabric of daily life, and insults fit perfectly. So your commentary on that seems particularly relevant.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56002.99
ETH 2458.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28