"I Wish I Could Go To The Zoo" | An Original Poem

in #poetry7 years ago


I Wish I Could Go To The Zoo

An Original Poem by @CarlieEster

A seven year old loves animals
Stripey spotty furry clawy
animals
A trip to the zoo would be
A dream come true
for a little girl
Except for the one who cannot see
The stripes and spots might as well
Be tropes and spits for all I know
Because I could not see.

A seven year old loves animals
Tall thick small quick
animals
Because they never try to pry
They don’t need answers! answers!
I’d rather be ignored
Than poked and doctored.

I’ll hide behind your legs
Because it’s easier not to show
Than to answer quipped questions
Like what is that stuck on you
Is your eye lazy
Tell me, child is your vision hazy?
You laugh at me and say “four eyes”
I’ll take four eyes over none.

I hope that you enjoyed the zoo
I wish I went too but
My head is sleeping in gauze
My tears can’t get out
Thank you for your plastic cat
Thank you for the little toy
you brought me back
It feels hard and will not mew
I wish I could go to the zoo with you.

Thank you for reading.

Image used is a commercially licensed stock photo from pexels.com


@CarlieEster is a Writer, Radio DJ, Runner, full time mother and wife, from the island of Barbados.

Sort:  

I really like your poems. They most definitely deserve a vote :)

keep them coming :)

Congratulations @carlieester! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 60771.43
ETH 3271.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44