Metamorphic: Break through the Shell

in #poetry7 years ago

Hey Steemit! Today I am going to share a personal writing with you all. Constructive criticism is not only welcomed but desired. This poem is meant to inspire people to break away from negativity in their lives

We crawl over grass, leaves, and other chloroplasts.
We fight to feed ourselves and grow, and find stability that lasts.
I see the logic of larva: "Perpetually move from the past."
If the numbers are low on the die that are cast,
we gotta run hard, we gotta run fast.

I came to a place, where all things seemed to stop.
I was underneath my life, crushed down, not on top.
Trampled into complacency, beneath the rolling rock.
Cocooned in myself, a simple habit is the only lock.
and I am the only Key. I will be free! I can see and end to what I used to believe.
that I was stuck forever.
The walls aren't closing in, they break against my pressure!
I have changed! I am something better!

I've grown too much to be crushed any longer.
While my obstacles stagnated, I have grown stronger.
I will break this shell and rise.
I will spread these wings and fly.
You can too! Take back your life and soar into the sky!
Metamorphic, like a butterfly.


I want to thank @funnystuff for putting up the first poem I read on steemit, and inspiring me to try my hand at a poem here myself. I would also like to thank @tommyinthesun for allowing me to stay in his residence during this sojourn, and also @matt-a and @robrigo for being awesome teachers during this time away from home.

sources for pictures:
#1 http://www.patheos.com/blogs/nakedpastor/2013/04/the-urgency-of-breaking-free/
#2 https://www.pinterest.com/pin/233624299393385611/
#3 http://www.thebutterflysite.com/life-cycle.shtml

Sort:  

Always welcome, friend!

thanks mate! glad to have you back!

Loved it! Following! Can't wait to see what else you have to share with us!

thank you!

Upvoted!! I loved it, very beautiful.
It reminded me of when I was coming out of my shell.
I've posted a couple poems I've written please have a look and tell me what you think. I would really love that. :)

thankyou!

vote and fl , i will vote for your

Upvoted and RESTEEMED :)

I dig it. You're in good company. Nature has a way of healing, does it not? I hope you continue to enjoy your trip. Also, If you happen to meet @matt-a 's momma, please tell her that J.P. loves her.

indeed it does, I have been. I will be sure to let her know

Congratulations @broester! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Loved it Loved it Loved it !!!!!!!!!!! Brother we defiantly need more positive poetry, song's, and inspirational quotes ! An i'm thrilled your contributing to what we all need in this world , good vibes! .....now you got me inspired to post one of the song's i sing and play on the guitar......been holdin off , but now it's about time i share my contribution as well ....Thanks for inspiration ...keep up the great post!!

thanks! you should just unleash your good vibes on the world.
I plan to hit a few different niches before I cycle back into poetry again, but maybe that can be my staple.

Congratulations @broester! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
You got your First payout
Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Do you often write poems, i really enjoyed this one, very inspiring! Hope to read more soon.
And my personal taste are poems that don't rhyme, maybe you try it somedays :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61572.53
ETH 2995.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73