DAY 1 OF 100 DAYS POETRY CHALLENGE: TEARDROPS OF THE WAR TORN, GRIEF STRICKEN CHILD.

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

image

source

I am a fugitive of my World,
Made not by fault of mine
But by your endless love of hatred.
I am ravaged, by your Savagery.

My face, a bloodied mess of wishy thoughts,
My heart's tempo, the weary drone of raiding Jets,
I am led by thumps of your artillery,
Running up to a mirage, to refuge, to food, to love.

I wish i could hold a father's hand,
But he's just another mangled mess admist my soul's rubbles,
He dies on, living on as fresh wound through my heart.
While with no stake, heads aloft, you decide the right to ceasefire.

I wish i could find warmth in a mother's bossom
But i have cold hard floor, I hope she rests, at God's bossom.
I soldier on, tiery eyed with fiery fright.

I am a Syrian Child ravaged by war, torn with tears
Not by fault of mine, but by your endless love of hatred.
Reach out with love, save me now.
Lest i drown in my Ocean, of endless Teardrops.
image

source

Notes


I only considered it sacrosanct, that I start this 100 day challenge writing about what bothers me to the utmost core of my living essence. The effects and horrors which war has on children, many are damaged emotionally, they are malnourished and they never get to enjoy the joy of being a child, most die young. This situation, most regrettably, is playing out before our eyes in Syria. Not only in Syria, but the world over, just beside you, in Africa, in Europe, in America, in Asia, abounds tears. Tears of grief, teardrops of war, teardrops of regret. The case of the Syrian child is just a glaring one out of many. Many have died, many are fatherless and many most regretably have been rendered orphans and their homes just a pile of billowing smoke.
. Their only fault is humanity's love for savagery. This piece is dedicated to them.

UNICEF is issuing this blank statement. We no longer have the words to describe children’s suffering and our outrage. Do those inflicting the suffering still have words to justify their barbaric acts?

The question indeed remains unanswered.
Reach out with love then, in whatever way you can, show love to a child, wipe the tears of a child and give a child hope for tomorrow.

I have been writing poetry for sometime now, intermittently though and not quite seriously. Someday I get some inspiration to write, for a few months I do not. This 100 day challenge would therefore help me in trying to be consistent in my writing. For now, I consider myself a beginner, or an intermediate? Certainly not an expert. Atleast, not yet.

Please do join us in the Steemit School discord here https://discord.gg/H6FNxdP.
Thank you for reading.

Sort:  

This is amazing... extremely powerful poem, and such an important issue to raise and talk about.

This really pulls at the heart strings, and your reminder to us all to love is what really made this whole thing so potent in it's delivery of the message.

Reach out with love then, in whatever way you can, show love to a child, wipe the tears of a child and give a child hope for tomorrow.

Thank you for this my friend. I hope that you will continue to write everyday and contribute to this contest with more quality entries like this.

Keep up the great work.

With Love
Hart Floe Poet
<3

Thank you so @hartflow i really really like how you have your way with words.
Yes, the issue is important, but sadly it is sidelined maybe because humanity is begining to think that is the normal. Nothing however, is normal about subjecting a child to horrors better left unsaid.
You just have to watch clips of Syria and see what is happening. Pathetic.
Thank you for caring to comment. I think i have a friend in you. Thank you.
Yes, i hope to continue writing everyday. So help me God. Lol

Honestly... I can't bare to see it. I haven't watched the News in about 6 years because I feel it's designed to give you a daily dose of fear and despair each day to keep people trapped.

But I am aware of what's happening. I feel like I am on my path to help... in my own silly little way...

and I can see that you are too brother.

With our words we can change this world.

You definitely have a friend in me :) We're here doing this together!

Let's not stop till everything is better yeah? ;)

Keep up the great work. Hope you enjoy my blog too over the time we spend here.

With Love
Hart Floe Poet
<3

Wow, thank you Friend.
I just saw the amazing poem you wrote, you certainly are an expert aren't you?
I love the message, too.
Determination conquers all hence theres no challenge or obstacle that is unconquerable.
Thank you.

Thank you so much for your words. You are a wise man! That's easy to see. I think this is gonna be a very special journey that we all take together in this contest... magic is happening... gold will appear!

It already is -

Determination conquers all hence theres no challenge or obstacle that is unconquerable.

Truth written right there my friend!

Keep it up man. Can't wait to read more :)

With love
Hart Floe Poet
<3

Wow very powerful and very well written, you really are the voice of these children in your poem. Well done @blessedben for writing about something that often gets overlooked

Thank you @trucklife-family i really do appreciate your feedback.
Yes it gets overlooked, and if there is a thing which should never be, this is it.
Thank you.

@blessedben, this piece had a heft to it. I felt myself pulled into this harrowing scenario where the drone of jets became my heartbeat.

Thanks a lot for your contribution and fulfilling all the guidelines perfectly. For now, I'm placing you in the Intermediate category :-)

Thank you very much.
This is a lot of work you've opted to do for the benefit of others..
Thank you for your selfllessness.

That's wonderful imagery and a great crafting of words. As the father of 4 children I can only imagine with deep grief the horrors created for these children.

Yes, these horrors are indeed best left to imagination than experienced.
Sadly a child lives through all these.
Thank you for your feedback.
Am most grateful.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by blessedben from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86