Winter: A Haiku

in #poetry7 years ago

This is my entry for the competition hosted by @dbooster.

Snowflakes drift and fall
as breaths become clouds
of desperate asthma.

snowyday2.JPG


I am sure it won't be much, but the need is great, so I pledge the SBD payout of this post to @tarc. TARC is a non-profit animal rescue in a very poverty-stricken area. It currently has 34 dogs in its care and the organization is desperate for donations to help pay for both some emergency and the routine vet care. The dogs must be fully vetted before they can be transported out of the area to another rescue that arranges new homes for them.


Yes, even haiku can get editing in #poetry-workshop on @thewritersblock. Thank you @damianjayclay for taking the time to look at this for me. All weaknesses and flaws that remain are my responsibility--not his.





Sort:  

clouds of desperate asthma
speechless

Same. I dwelled on that detail and it literally sucked the breath out of me! (Especially because I have asthma :P)

Fantastic work, Bex :) It so naturally falls into the form of a one breath poem.

Except havign an asthma attack I'd get a few words out per breath if I was lucky...

I wish I'd had a picture of more appropriate snow. That is a bit too driven compared to the haiku....

Hello bex :) it's me memeitbaby from discord hehe .. im just scrolling the haiku tag and saw this post .. great haiku ! Im making some too if you have some time would you check them too ^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64349.20
ETH 2673.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83