Haiku Contest

in #haiku6 years ago (edited)

Announcing my first haiku contest!

haiku-contest.jpg

Haiku Contest Rules

  1. Upvote and Resteem this post. The more people we can get involved here, the more fun we can have.

  2. Write a haiku.

    • Post it in the comments to this post
    • Make your own post with the haiku and a link to this post
    • Oh yeah, and while it's not required, I would prefer if your haiku were original. That is, that you aren't using the same one you previous submitted to other contests on Steemit.
  3. You may include a title or a headnote. A headnote is a short bit of text that sets the scene for the haiku. Some haiku poets use them (Basho and Shiki did) and some don't. You may also include a photo if you want.

  4. No syllable requirement, just keep it short. Aim for one breath. You can read my thoughts on syllable counts in English haiku here.

    • Nor does it have to be three lines. See my thoughts here.
  5. It should have some kind of reference to nature and have a juxtaposition of images. I write should not must. If you think your haiku is strong enough to do without, go for it. I am not stuck in tradition and I welcome new creative ideas.

  6. Consider this quote from Jack Kerouac:

    [A] Haiku must be very simple and free of all poetic trickery and make a little picture and yet be as airy and graceful as a Vivaldi Pastorella.

  7. Have at it!

Sample

Here is a haiku I used in the article referenced above.

evening
snow beating down
my son is snoring

You can see I give a nod to the season, and there is also a shift in the action as we move from the scene (lines 1 and 2) to my son.

Another Sample

This one, a classic from Buson:

on the temple bell
sleeping
a butterfly

You can read more about that haiku here.

An American Haiku Sample

And here is one of my favorites from Jack Kerouac:

No telegram today
only more leaves
fell.

About

Now this isn't to step on the toes of @Moonleesteem, who already runs a haiku contest and does a wonderful job at it. I participate in his contest occasionally and I recommend you do too.

But as many of you know, I disagree on syllable requirement for haiku, while at the same time I am a bit more of a stickler for having some nod towards nature and featuring some kind of juxtaposition of images.

So I decided to hold my own contest.

Close Date and Prizes

Contest will go for 7 days, so that means the final day you can submit is next Wednesday the 14th (Japan time).

Prizes will be 2 SBD for first place. 1 SBD for second place. And .5 SBD for third place.

I will be the sole judge.

Also if anyone is interested in sponsoring this or future haiku contests, please DM me on Discord. If I can pick up a sponsor, that prize money may increase.

Above all, have fun.





If you enjoyed this post, please like and resteem. Also be sure to follow me to see more from Japan everyday.

I post one photo everyday, as well as a haiku and as time allows, videos, more Japanese history, and so on. Let me know if there is anything about Japan you would like to know more about or would like to see.

Who is David?
Hi thereDavid LaSpina is an American photographer lost in Japan, trying to capture the beauty of this country one photo at a time.
Sort:  

Hi @dbooster, thanks for running this contest. Here's my entry.

Last Fall

The path less followed
Wound through sun splattered forest
Yellow, red and green

IMG_4850.jpg

a bright starry night
the place is peaceful again
close your dreary eyes

s-l300.jpg

img source

Original Haiku By : @memeitbaby

cold night
my son says "star"
for the first time




orion-2942261_960_720.jpg

Helpless

Just as yesterday
He sat in the street
hungry again


Source

Snow

Freezing in cold
Land covered with white sheet
chilling to the bone

lol, i thought the pictures caption was pretty funny :P

hahaha! glad someone noticed! i find it funny too. Can you imagine is snow is indeed black. Ugh, pure darkness everywhere. lol

Imagine
snow everywhere
black as night

Haiku material indeed! Haha enter that one in the competition!

Thats a haicu

Nice one! Hahahaha. That should be a valid entry. ;)

My entry, written just now, recalling that this is the anniversary of the Sylmar/Newhall earthquake:

In Los Angeles
the dark before the dawn
suddenly: EARTHQUAKE!

I've been writing haiku since childhood, and have been mostly a purist regarding syllables, which came largely from having a lot of Japanese neighbors and friends.

Lately I've playing with the syllable count more, so I welcomed this contest. Liked and resteemed.

Hello David, and this is my entry

Vengeance ablaze
Blinding rage
Welcoming death’s cloak.

haiku contest
thinking so hard
nothing

Post Link

Just a fun little post for my first contest entry. I will try to make something more airy and nice in the future. Thanks for running these, and for your posts on haiku.

My path
glazed by frost
the ocean


Photo by me. Right click for larger image.

Link to my post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95