Poetry, Art and My First Ever Video / PERSISTENCE OF VISION

in #poetry8 years ago (edited)


A Storehouse of Crumbling Paper

Making a Record of Life

My poem Persistence of Vision details an individuals attempt to make a final accounting of his life, to leave a record or legacy behind. The poem references to two historical events that maybe unfamiliar so I have taken time to define them.

  • Edward Muybridge (1830-1904) was an English photographer who took sequential photos, motion studies that he later projected as stop action movies. His first and most famous sequence was taken to prove that when a horse gallops there is a moment when all four of its hooves are off of the ground .

  • The Mutoscope was invented in 1894. It was an early motion picture device that used a manual cranked to advance a ring of flipping cards. For a nickel people could watch short stop action movies. Many, like What the Butler Saw, were rather risque.

Persistence of Vision

My attendant, with her back to the sun,
primps outrageous hoopla
and puckers
moist lips for a selfie.

I sit all alone in my hospital gown.
The wheels of my chair
cast a long shadow,
a spiraling trail
in a Civil War graveyard.

A shoe box is balance on my knees.
There are Polaroid pictures
like Rolodex cards.

Black and white memories:
galloping horses, naked men waltzing
and all kinds of women
with gymnastic prowess.

They are ordered
so my life will unfold
like a Mutoscope peep show.

As you watch, you will see
there were times
my toes left the ground.


Note: this is my first attempt at creating a video, I hope to do more. Let me know what you thought of it.

Thank you for supporting my work.

Writing and art are my own.

Sort:  

I liked your article. Helps you like mine ♥ @siams

Thanks, I will check it out.

I write poems too

Thanks, gave you an upvote today.

Your video is right up my street, I think it is wonderful!
I have a bank of short videos that I have taken of light, colours through glass, a blurry reflection in a frosted window- things that would probably bore most people, but to me they are beautiful.

Right with you, glad you enjoyed this one. I think I will have more soon.

upvoted! awesome. i really love poetry. you could check mine and give me a critic :-) https://steemit.com/poetry/@annesaya/youth-s-dim-light-a-poem-original

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68166.55
ETH 3802.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52