POERTY AND ART / A House Is A Lifetime

in #poetry6 years ago

Our environments shape us, or perhaps you could say, we transform to be similar to the ideas that surround us. If you do nothing but watch CNN, you will grow to be liberal. If you only watch FOX you will grow to be conservative. There are city values and country values, traditionalists and trend setters.

My poem is about a man who has grown comfortable living in his house. He knows it, understands it, and doesn’t want to leave it.

The poem was inspired by this the image I created. Part of the image is a photograph of an old house I took this summer.

B15AACA9-3216-4181-AE66-236046B6803B.jpeg

A House Is A Lifetime

Stay in one room
and you meld
with the colors,
a chameleon
walking on plaid,
or the celery green kitchen
over-painted stark white.

Even the cupboards,
that seem so familiar,
are known by the cook,
the color of sugar,
the smell of pink roast.

And a table
covered with oil cloth,
set with white plates
and royal blue banding,
a cup of black coffee
made on the stove,

boiled way too long,
until he was feeble
and driven away,
a room that was foreign
and wrong.

logo 2.jpg

Sort:  

I love your poems because they reminds me always inspiring images! Very nice poem and really interesting art!

Thanks, always glad to hear you enjoy them

I agree, our environments can mould us. The poem captures that concept, and puts the reader there within such an example.

The older i get the more comfort I find in being home, when I’m away it’s not long before I’m homesick.

The guy join steemit then ..lol. nicely written poem and good innovative photo. voted and followed. I wrote a love story. In case you are interested. please pay a visit and suggest me if you have anything...

https://steemit.com/writing/@panknil/friendship-and-true-love-a-real-story

Thanks, perhaps he did.

Wow.. Cool 😊

This post has been resteemed from MSP3K courtesy of @sunravelme from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59274.49
ETH 2983.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75