Part 4 / DOUBTS FIRM MY RELIGION

in #poetry8 years ago

The Inside Tastes Sour

Part 4 of Doubts Firm My Religion continues with short verse poetry and companion art. It begins to confront our pains, our mistakes and our grieving. It continues to puzzle meaning and purpose, to build our desire for a satisfying conclusion.


Quiet Suffering

The woman next door, who leaned
on her walker, head tilted up in the manner
of Saint Sebastian, absorbing pointed
accusation yet never asking, makes
me remember the smear of red lipstick
that sealed her lips.

Author’s note: We watch loved ones get old and neighbors face difficult times. It is often hard to comprehend what they are going through; especially if you have not gone through a similar experience. This poem takes an outsider’s look at another persons pain.


Faltering Steps / On the Way to Becoming a Saint


Errors in Judgment

Without punctuation boxcars collide,
mistakes without commas
again and again, unsettled ghosts
I placate with lies.

Author’s note: We all make mistakes. The secret is to learn from them and then to move forward. Unfortunately many people just make up excuses.



Persuassion is Hemming and Hawing


Before Something Arrives

Whenever fingers tingle, something profound
is expected: the thunder of tectonic plates;
a feeling of lightness like gravity losing
its interest; the coffering voice
of a visiting corpse.

Author’s note: There are points in everyone's life when you begin to sense that just maybe there is something more than what's seen.


Out In the Yard We Sound Just the Same

If you missed Part 1 CLICK HERE

If you missed Part 2 CLICK HERE

If you missed Part 3 CLICK HERE


Thank you for supporting my work.

Writing and art are my own.

Sort:  

I like this piece.

I enjoyed these line and your notes gave it an additional kick!

Thanks @puffin, adding the author's notes was a difficult decision for me. As a poet I don't always know for sure what the poem is trying to say. I want to allow the reader freedom to make their own conclusion. I recall dialoguing with other poets in workshops about what I thought a poem they presented was saying, then to feel their excitement when they said I never even saw that, but yes! I see poetry as a wild animal that when done right should drag us out of the ruts of the well worn trail.

So many amazing posts!!!! <3

Many thanks, glad to see old posts are being visited.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60612.92
ETH 2607.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65