Part 3 / DOUBTS FIRM MY RELIGION

in #poetry8 years ago (edited)

Fitting into the Mold

Part 3 of Doubts Firm My Religion continues with short verse poetry and companion art. It takes the reader from childhood into adulthood. It continues to consider the validity of what others have said about meaning and purpose; and in the end, perhaps helps them find a conclusion.


Mannequin Blinks

Former dialogues scramble.
The dots on the paper
seldom connect,
yet the outcomes
align predetermined:
seven times eight,
Spot is a dog.
My mentors
are all puppeteers,
but I am too quick
to be tied to their strings.

Author’s note: We learn from different sources: parents, teachers, friends. Often times the lessons conflict. We struggle but ultimately determine which ones are true, or at least true for us.


Looking Back There Is Something That's Missing


The Strongest Man on the Block

My neighbors get smaller and smaller.
When I touch their horizon, I know
I could smash all their houses.

Author’s note: I believe this is the shortest poem in the series, but it is probably my favorite. It highlights those time in our lives when our own self importance gets far out of balance.


Every So-Often Perspective Needs an Adjustment

If you missed Part 1 CLICK HERE

If you missed Part 2 CLICK HERE


Thank you for supporting my work.

Writing and art are my own.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60596.21
ETH 2611.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64