LONGING FOR FREEDOM

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

The Poem-
In my poem Longing for Freedom I have juxtaposed two lives: one is an old man whose declining health makes him a prisoner in his own home; the other is a hunted fugitive whose story is unfolding on the evening news. Both men have one thing in common, a longing for freedom.

The Art
Which came first, the chicken or the egg,; or should I say, which came first, the poem or the art? Occasionally I am inspired to write a poem based on an image, but usually I create the art after I have written the poem. It is a difficult process for me, trying to recreate an image that is already in my head. At times this process restricts my creativity, I am forced to use details I have described in the poem. The exciting thing about solving these types of problems however, is that the restrictions often stimulate the most creative solutions.

chair 10.jpg

Longing for Freedom

The living room is a gold leaf
Victorian museum.
Saint Peter hangs
near the window.

An old man rests
in a gentleman’s chair,
an aluminum walker
stands just within reach.

A wisp of stale air,
like a cool basement
stairwell, blows
from a fan.
CNN runs in a loop,
a manhunt continues
throughout the mid-west.

Bred to hunt rabbits,
an overweight beagle
waits the remnants
of a Jimmy Dean breakfast.
His master lets him eat
from his hand.

He turns on a light,
the lamp shade is studded
with rhinestones.

He straps on a blood pressure cuff
he purchased at Walgreen’s.
It is tight on his arm like the grip
of a Roman Centurion.

Sort:  

Splendid...I'm happy to be a follower, yall keep motivating me

Glad you enjoyed it @trillex it means a lot.

Very interesting. Which freedom is the most desired of the two.

Thanks @billykeed I imagine it depends on if you are the fugitive or the old man.

I am captivated by the story that your poem is telling. Wonderful.
Do check out my poem
https://steemit.com/poetry/@positivesteem/living-on-our-terms

Glad you enjoyed it, gave you an up vote.

Thank you for your vote and support

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jun 02. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $15.40 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jun 02 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61533.72
ETH 3447.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51