A lonely highway rest stop, need I say more?

in #poetry8 years ago (edited)

A Fear Drifts Through a Dream

Most people have dreams, some are even fearful to sleep for fear of nightmares. My dreams are just little off-beat dramas I share with my wife over breakfast. At times she asks what the dream meant and more often than not I can figure out a reasonable explanation.

Rest Stop is a narrative poem that walks the fine line between dream and reality.

Rest Stop

I was parked at a rest stop
in the middle of nowhere
tired and fatigued.

A horizon of distant grey trees
divided a corn stubble field
from a crystal clear sky.

What resembled a school
of small fish darted through
the blue in beautiful ballet,

a syncopated harmony
of freedom and movement.
I opened my window

felt a cold rush of air,
a chill on my neck
that went down my spine.

Ominous shadows,
torpedo in shape, crossed
through my vision

and into the dance.
They swam in wide circles
corralling the swarm

of small dancers into a tight
fisted ball. Then they slashed
through the middle

flashing and ripping.
One of their shadows rolled
over the hood of my car.

I could feel its weight
like a foreboding fear
and fled to the highway.

Thank you for supporting my work.

Writing and art are my own.

Sort:  

The dreams of an artist, always so vivid as if asking to be given life through the brush or lens.

Many thanks, you gotta have dreams even they are crazy, or maybe the crazier the better.

What a great combo! XOXO Cheers @beginningtoend! Wishing you the best!

@beginingtoend good poem. Do check out my poem too

Thanks, will do.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63896.48
ETH 3315.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.92