You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Temple Pine Needles :: Haiku of Japan #38

in #poetry7 years ago

It's amazing how a simple haiku can be so evocative. Having lived in rural Miyazaki for two years, this brought back a flood of memories. Appreciate your sharing this and I look forward to seeing more from you. Natsukashii!

Sort:  

Happy to hear it brought you back to Japan, so to speak :) Rural Miyazaki—that must have been an adventure! I try to post one of these translations every day, so stay tuned for more.

An adventure it was indeed. I was a JET from 2009-2011. Time of my life :-D Reading the Japanese it took me a minute to find the 5 / 7 / 5 syllable pattern and thought the haiku was missing a syllable or two. Missed the separate n in both zendera and kannazuki.
ze n de ra ni
ma tsu no o chi ba ya
ka n na zu ki

Right? Sorry, way too much time on my hands. Sunday here in Hawaii ;)

Yep, you found it. I do occasionally post some free-form haiku tho. Santoka rarely followed the typical hokku pattern (such as in this one) but I usually mention if they are free-form or otherwise miss the count (as even Basho sometimes did).

That sounds wonderful. I never did the ALT thing, but I have many friends who did and it always sounds like it can be a wild ride. You should post some of your memories from it on here sometime. I'd love to read them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58940.53
ETH 2638.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49