Crack in the MasksteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poetry7 years ago

Capture+_2017-07-25-17-45-43-1.png

Sometimes in life I wear a mask
To shoulder the weight of a difficult task
I paint and create a special version
For when I have to be a people person

Society's not my favorite thing
We tend to disagree
So I dull the nagging social sting
Or at least to some degree

The mask has seen its share of days
Through many acts and many plays
The ones the world calls reality
All working towards an apogee

The gilding coat has flaked and faded
I've adorned it far too much
Perhaps society is overrated
Perhaps I'm out of touch

You stand apart from the shambling herd
You see the cracks, but haven't said a word
Because you know there's a day when
I won't have to wear the mask again

Sort:  

This "mask" that now feels like one I was born in, even when it greeted me with the discomfort of an aglet when we first met. This is a mutual mask, man; and this was one hell of a read. Thank you for sharing. I look to the next one 😊

Thank you, sir. I hope you continue to write your stories as well. :)

So beautiful thanks for sharing @atomramble

Wonderful photography work, ! Thanks for sharing! I have just upvoted your post ;) @atomramble

Thank you very much. :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by atomramble from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Thank you again! :)

They see a picture, an image. They read only the words and rhyme. I see under, between the cracks, into the meaning. I hear the words and know them for I live there too, behind the mask. You and I and those like us see what the rest do not. That all of them, yes everyone, though not they know. Put on their masks and walk out too.

Good post mate, instantly made my mind click.

Thank you, my friend. Being able to relate and resonate with someone is important to me with my writings. I also agree that far too often, people don't read past face value (pun partially intended). I am glad it stirred such a reaction within you. You and I seem to be quick kindred even now, but time will tell. Your response also reminds me of a quote from a recent television show.

"You see everything when the world doesn't see you." - "Liz Taylor," American Horror Story Hotel

This is my favorite post so far today. You captured the essence of the introvert. I also enjoyed the ending. Good write.

Thank you very much. Favorite of the day makes me VERY happy. I will try to keep them coming. :)

Great work on that opening man.

Thank you. Not as eloquent as your poetry, but I will get there someday.

Congratulations @atomramble! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Yay! Another virtual gold star cookie. :P

Dude that would make an awesome song.
Great work my man.

Thank you. I never thought of it being a song? Who would you have sing it?

I love the comment from the person that says you have really captured the introvert. I feel that. Like the cliche of the onion, or my favorite of the iceberg, that you only see what is on the surface. Thank you for opening what so few choose to see.

Sometimes all it takes is showing someone that someone else understands them. A resonant piece.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64854.61
ETH 3478.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52