The Sotto Voce of Happiness - (an attempt at a poem)

in #poetry6 years ago

The Sotto Voce of Happiness

I want to pour a torrent
a stream of words that refresh,
painting images, not of joy,
but of deep lasting happiness.

I want my canvas to be an arid desert
on which I colour Spring,
and each grain of sand a heart
that blossoms.

I want apt words I have borrowed from my past
maybe even from my future -
if the spark within can know of the unknown,
but I cannot find words that belong to me.

I can feel them dancing within
playful, laughing, joyous children,
calling for me to set them free
so that they can belong to more than me.

Though they ache for adventures
and a life of their own,
in truth, they are but ghosts,
half-forgotten mists of laughter.

Oh how many what-may-have-beens,
singers without voices,
and if the sun dares light their way
they’ll shyly hide, losing all form.



Αλέξανδρος Ζήνον Ευσταθίου
(Alexander Zenon Eustace)

13th May, 2018

  • posted on Steemit 15th May, 2018




sotto voce = speak in an undertone

Sort:  

I hung on to this poem, for I had a feeling I have not expressed it exactly as I wish it to be...but nothing new comes and I cannot see where it fails.

So, here it is, maybe you'll sense what I am searching for, or maybe I am just imagining the lack...

I hope it lights up at least a tiny corner of your mind with joyful images.

LOVED THIS

Thank you - it is so wonderful to have a comment from a reader.

.

A DEDICATION to Vaccine Damaged CHILDREN and their Suffering Parents

I think, thanks to what else has been said on posts of yours, I dedicate this poem to all the parents with children who have been damaged by vaccinations and cannot speak. This, in a way, is how they feel, for they do have the words and feelings dancing inside them, they just cannot express them. Let us hope it leads to them detoxifying their child, as ANY improvement could help free the child.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65527.96
ETH 3466.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52