30 Day Poetry Challenge :: Day 8 :: Before-life

in #poetry6 years ago



I've always been attracted to, and terrified of, the Unknown.
She calls to me with irresistible seduction,
sucking me forward into the abyss of the After-life,
and pulling me back through my mother's womb into the Before-life.
I like to visit these spaces multiple times a day,
trying to figure out which came first,
or if that's even the right question to ask.
Maybe the question is, which space will I return to?
Are they both the same?
And does that mean that I've been here, too, before?

Energy cannot be created or destroyed, just transmuted.
And so I accept that I am dying with every exhale,
and am being born with every inhale.
And in the moments between the two lies the Abyss.

She is the formless that carries form,
and the dark night which no light can enter.
She has no memory, because she exists without time.
She whispers in my soul,
"You came from me, and you will return to me.
I am closer than you think".



Day 8 Poetry Challenge :: Meditate on your own death and then write a poem. If you are looking for a guided death meditation, I wrote about one in a previous post here - https://steemit.com/writing/@anwenbaumeister/meditations-on-your-own-death-how-witnessing-my-own-death-helps-me-live

Sort:  
Loading...

Wow that's a pretty heavy piece. What a challenge! Will have to bingeread the previous poems as well.

Had to turn off my scientific thinking for this part:

Energy cannot be created or destroyed, just transmuted.
And so I accept that I am dying with every exhale,
and am being born with every inhale.
And in the moments between the two lies the Abyss.

But once I stopped thinking about the blood cells that are still carrying oxygen between breaths, the thought of what's in between is interestingly really soothing and mesmerising.

Great poetry thanks for sharing this amazing poetry carry on

nice i likey

Please Like My posts I liked you

Excellent poetry and thanks for sharing this which got me thinking...
Keep it coming . Upped

This is beautiful, especially that last stanza. It sends shivers down my spine. Think that will stay with me for a while.

This is some outstanding work! I love how this piece motivates you to dwell on existence! I am rather lost for words, It's chilling yet enchanting!

I love this connection you make with life and death, suggesting that our essence is shared from one to the other,

Energy cannot be created or destroyed, just transmuted.
And so I accept that I am dying with every exhale,
and am being born with every inhale.
And in the moments between the two lies the Abyss.

The way I've translated it, it seems that as we die, we only fuel the next life. It's a beautiful never-ending life cycle!

I am Astounded! I'll be back to check in soon!

I would love to get involved with this too, How do I go about submission? :)

That was beautiful.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 57810.80
ETH 3056.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.24