Poetry in Motion

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Neighbours

I don't profess to being a poet by any means but this little poem came to me last night when I had a visitor.

My neighbours planned on going away to visit family for a few days and they asked me to do them a wee favour.

"Sure" I said "no problem" They do a lot for me and this was a chance for me to repay them.

I promised a poem but first let me explain why I wrote it.

My neighbour is a very good friend of mine and one of his passions beside his family and farm, is poetry. He is often writing little poems and emailing them to me for appraisal.
In fact, he's written so many that he recently published a book filled with poems about a gun club he belongs to.

This little poem is for him.

What was the favour you ask?

Could I look after their kitten while they went away - an arduous chore for sure 😁

IMG_2023.JPG

Little Ginger Kitten Cat

Sometimes naughty and sometimes sweet
It's cuteness overload you just can't beat

Filled with so much energy and life
Always getting into loads of strife

Bouncing and leaping from chair to couch
Butt starts wiggling then pouncing from crouch
Her new favourite spot is the windowsill
From there she can view the things she can kill

A whirlwind has come to join us today
Poor Blackcat's patience is starting to fray
A ginger ball filled with teeth and fur
Next minute she's asleep with full on purr

Warm and cuddly with such soft fur
Wrapped around my neck - you gotta love her
I only have her for two or three days
I'm sure by then, I'll be bent to her ways

I haven't read a lot of poetry but today I did some exploring and found
@d-pend and in particular I liked this post.

Check out the link below

d-pend

Join @markrmorrisjr and the rest of the students at @dolphinschool

Sort:  

Yeah think you did well for what @markrmorrisjr asked. I can not seem to figure out how to do a clean hyperlink such as yourself. I am still learning. Regarding your poem I am not a good judge at all. I simply like how your post flowed and grabbed my attention from start to finish. Thanks.

I have no idea about poetry either - sometimes it just comes to me and I write it down. Thank you for the lovely comment :)
Yesterday @naquoya gave me this link which helps a lot with the editing. Thanks again @naquoya
@gmuxx: A Beginners guide to Editing

The poem really captured the essence of a cheeky kitten. Is that a sock she's killing in the first picture?

It certainly is a sock - She beat it thoroughly!!!

You did a great job on completing the assigned task today. I liked the poem and the added pictures were a great touch.

Aww thank you for liking it - I was worried because it's pretty simplistic - not exactly fine literary content lol but to was fun to write :)

No, don't worry about things like that. See, you took away the fear and posted it. It was great to read and put a smile on my face. Keep up the good work.

Very good example of what @markrmorrisjr was discussing. I did feel the need to keep reading, but not with annoyance. The poem was a delight, and that ending photo of the kitty in question scores highly on the cute scale.

Aww thank you - I'm absolutely thrilled that you liked it. It is extremely cute - it makes it hard to do the assignments I can tell you!!!

Cute kitties and assignment completion have trouble sharing the same time and space. I mean - look at that face... :)

Hi andy.. You are doing well on steemit.. Your talent is amazing.. I was unable to use my account for last few days last night it freed and i again started here but i am seriously sick with viral infection since 4 days.. Fever not going down 102°F.. So i am visiting after many days.. Your posts are amazing and the one with beautiful shots of your land is awsomeeee.. Keep it up

I cant say about others but i like your poetry. Its good enough to catch anyones intensions and kitty is so cuteeee

Thank you so much :D I'm sorry you're sick and hope you feel better soon :)

Her new favourite spot is the windowsill
From there she can view the things she can kill

and the bit about you being bent to her ways, yep, that's a cat

As the man once said, my dog thinks he's human, my cat thinks he's god.

Great post, good use of imagery, nailed the bucket brigade! Nice!

Critique. watch the grammar. I noticed a few spots, not being an editor at heart, I won't try to point them out, for fear I'll be wrong, or miss one.
Also, spacing around the images and between lines, try to keep it consistent, if you can. Otherwise, an adorable post about your new friend, nice submission!

I re-read and couldn't see much wrong with the grammar - I'm wondering if you're meaning my english version of spelling i.e favour instead of favor. I might need you to point in some direction lol.
Thank you for the nice comments, I'm thrilled that people have enjoyed my amateur attempt at poetry. :)

You may be right, the spelling probably stuck in my head, which is weird, I often use English spellings myself. But, there's a missing apostrophe on he's which is likely what stuck in my head, but remember, I've done twenty something of these critiques today, LOL so, there's that.

Oh thank you - I've got lazy with apostrophes and commas and now sometimes I can't see for looking. I don't envy you that task - good luck with todays lot :)

Well done on the homework and on taking on the little whirlwind. Nice poem.

Aww thank you - she's running me ragged now lol

She was awesome @mawit07. I loved her start. Her title was engaging too, saying "poetry in motion" made me want to read. I admire this work @andysantics48. If you do love poetry and I believe with a little more practice you would be better. We could do a collaboration you know.

Awww thank you so much - I have done a few little poems and I quite enjoy doing them - once I have an idea I find it quite easy to write. Would love to work with you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67705.30
ETH 3767.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73