Love Is

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

The other day when I read @whack.science's 'Love Is' poem it reminded me of the little cartoon that we had in the newspaper when I was younger.
It was so cute and I always looked for it.
It was created by Kim Casali in the 1960's as a series of love notes she wrote, for her then future husband, Robert Casali. This is in fact still going today :)

It inspired me to write my own 'Love is' poem - so here is my version.....

love is.jpg

Love Is

Love Is
Taking a walk hand in hand
Making an effort to understand

Listening about your day
Staying...come what may

Love is
Warming my feet in bed
Making sure that you're fed
A comfy night on the couch
Sometimes dealing with a grouch

Love Is
Helping with the chores
Not separating mine from yours
Drying all the tears
Reassuring when you fear

Love Is
Compromising with each other
Not looking for another
Understanding when to stay
Knowing when to back away

Love Is
A picnic in the park
Having fun after dark
Making each day fun
Feeling like you're number one

I thought it would be fun to nominate some other people to share their poems about love....... so lets share the love :)

I nominate @kiwideb @monchhichi23 @redheadpei @angelacs @creatr @dreemsteem

Divider By @scuzzy
Images from Clipart Library and The daily Tribune
Thank you for stopping by..

Sort:  

i like your poetry.
Love is everythink
Great post @andysantics48

This is beautiful

I was referred here by @kiwideb

I wonder if I can match the beauty and thoughtfulness in yours and hers but I'm willing to give it a try

Blessings

Thank you very much :) I look forward to reading what you come up with :) Thank you for visiting

That's just perfect. I can't think how I could do anything to equal yours. I'll put my thinking cap on...

EDIT - Done! It's amazing how standing in the shower awakens the muse...
https://steemit.com/poetry/@kiwideb/counting-the-ways-of-love-a-poetry-challenge

lol It must be the hot water and quiet. Your poem is excellent!! you didn't nominate anyone else though - we're supposed to be spreading the love lol

Oops, better go and correct that!

It's beautiful Andy!! I loved it!

Not separating mine from yours

This is my favorite part.. We must share! And, I'm glad you nominated others to share their love... So, let0s share it all over!! <3

Aww thanks @whack.science I'm glad you enjoyed it :) Yip spread the love :)

Lovely poem Andy- true to life. Thanks for nominating me. 😀. I will have to think -Ouch that hurts!
Seriously I will give it a go if I can get something to rhyme. ❤️

Hehehe I know you will write something beautiful @redheadpei - Don't forget to nominate other to spread the love :)

I used to hunt out those Love is ... cartoons in the paper, they were wonderful <3

Lovely poem you created :)

Aww thanks @ravenruis they are so cute - Thanks for visiting :)

Hehe Thanks @freedomtowrite - I'm sure you'd like to write a poem about you and @freedompoint so I nominate you to do this as well :P hehe

Oh geez! Haha I really shot myself in the foot by leaving a comment! Hahaha I will see what I can come up with! 😃

Hehe You will do great - you have great experience with the subject :)

oh.... i loved this - i wanted to quote so many places - and it ended up just being.... "i love the whole poem!" hehehehee
thanks for the nomination hehehe
does it need to be a poem? :)

No I guess not - just share the love :)


This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.
For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66976.31
ETH 3509.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70