Interested

in #poetry6 years ago

It's hard to be a good friend
When I'm not interested in anything
Or anyone.


And try as I might
The words that do come from me
Are tainted with the stain of desperation and depression
Of grief and bewilderment
And I know I'm a downer
So I'd rather not burden.


My smatterings of joy are for my kids.
The moments are there but they're fleeting
I worry I cant do this on my own
And if not on my own, then I'd rather not at all.

Sort:  

Well put together. Speaks to us as we all feel that way sometimes.

A quick visit to a kids counselor yesterday morning reminded me of something. Events don't cause emotions. Events cause us to think and act and that leads to feeling emotion. So, when stuff happens, focus upon your thoughts and direct your actions so your emotions will be under control.

When you are feeling down, something good is about to happen so chin up!

Thank you for your comment and your advice. Its a good reminder! I'm usually such an emotional being, but when I can use my rational thought and wrangle my emotions to cooperate with the thoughts, I do much better :)

Beautiful poem! You should check
Out Steem monsters sometime. 👍👍❤️😁

Everything will be in it's right place and time. :) You're always one of my good friends here. :)

Thank you Dawnee. I miss you xo

I miss you more. You know where to find me. :)

Sounds like we have a lot in common.

Love you SiSTAR <3 <3 Great to see you posting through all of this... <3 <3 <3 <3

Thank you Lyndsay, love you too ♡♡♡

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

Sending love and empathy <3 <3 <3 I hope you keep on sharing. You are so strong xoxoxo

YOu are very brave to put this writing on here. I have so often felt like that, especially as of late and just cant seem to share that deep stuff on here. It does feel good to get it out. xx

It does ceel good to get it off my chest, though i keep oscillating between "yeah sure, share the crappy feels" and "hrmmm, maybe keep that to yourself, no one wants to hear that". Swingy mood swings haha

well if you write a poem, people tend to like that deep dark stuff. since it is not like it gets published in a book or anything the few bucks we make and all the likes we get. well yippee

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62676.37
ETH 2581.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72