Lillie and I - Writers Block Poetry Contest Week 6

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

So this is my attempt and entry for @thewritersblock poetry contest, Bare with me here, my English isn't perfect. Hope you like this.

P.S: I decided to do this after seeing @diebitch amazing entry.

Picture is taken in Basra (North of Iraq) by friend Ali Shaker (Picture was changed after I saw the rules)
From Basra - Ali Shaker.jpg

My smiles faded upon your cold sharp eyes
Within your windy storm my sails met demise
Drying upon your locked gates I cried 'Lillie'
And all of my calls were lift out to dry

Two years, no music hit my guitar
And no sun shed light on my skies
I age the love in me and I squeeze it
Sipping out sadness with my whine

Torn apart
No gold or diamond have I for you
So let me be alone to agonize
If you'd squeeze the years of my life
Bleeding pain is all you will find
If I was a rich man you'd not refuse my love
But a poor house of disgrace is where I lie

I suffered and more, no sadness I show
And you don't know a thing of my cries
I walk with a laughter, Oh Lillie, acting tough
Hoping to keep away my death and hide
Nor the people know my pain to help
Nor do they have a path or an advise
It lives within me, a pain wiping my smiles
And could at will, suck my blood dry
You're more than forgiven for aborting my hope
It wasn't your fault, the stupid one here was I

I lost my convoy in the middle of dessert
And ran looking for myself in your black eyes
Going through your green branches smiling
Like a baby holding my hopes up high
You planted your claws desiccating my veins
Crushing with no mercy my sunshine

Stranger, My city left me all alone at once
Never have my ship set sails in a dark night
Exiled and strangers took over my land
Destroying all my precious things in sight
Your eyes have betrayed you, in lies and disguise
Or were you seduced by the diamonds that shines
'O majesty it shines so bright

I came spreading my wings' beauty like butterfly
In your hands my wings burned and fried
I scream with a sword planted in my kidney
Leaving betrayal to take the remaining of my light

What about you now?

Haven't life damned your hands yet?
Hasn't my murder left you satisfied ?

Who have I once I erase your name of my language?
Then I will carry on without Lillie the rest of my life

Sort:  

nice content and photograph, Awesome to see you always, thank you for that great work your ever doing on @steemit

Thank you sir. The photograph is actually from a a wonderful person in a group of photographers I started a while back. I plan to share all of their work at some point. I'll let the guy know about what you said.

Nice write ups @amir.

Nice try. Don't give up to writing in English. I feel you too. My English isn't good.

By the way, I have poetry for the contest. Maybe you want to give me feedback. Thanks
https://steemit.com/poetry/@anggreklestari/destiny-writers-block-poetry-contest-week-6

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63098.94
ETH 2621.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74