Removing the Paint from a Self-Portrait [An original poem focusing on moving beyond the anger I harbored for the way my father acted towards our family.]

in #poetry8 years ago (edited)

I reflect on my past and all I see is madness
Getting mad pissed with a lot of lunacy added in
I wasn't aware of myself all the way back then
Pissed off at my dad's sins, not knowing that's a false image
Pass the malt liquor, I wanna smash his ribs
Smash his lid, kick in his teeth and laugh in bliss
But fuck that, I can't let another control my emotions
So I'm back in the back of my lab composing potions
Caught the notion of devotion to self and I'm all in
Fall in line with nature and find the mind is a weapon
Step again, never falter against alter-egos
People speak of revolution when I intend to seed those
My very act of existence uproots gimmicks and contradictions
So count your chickens, and make sure your eggs are in one basket
I move forward : with the grace of an angel
Neither dark nor light, and surely horns hold up my halo



Source


LOVELAUGHTER&&XHAOS

PALPABLE POPE Ypyskypo Skwyrl, the Y'sas
High Priest, Temple of Appled Thought
Alchemist for Trades


If you enjoyed this post, feel free to follow me and check out a few others!


Join us in our Minnows Unite Chat for any of your questions, chat with other members, and gain the support of other great authors.
https://steemit.chat/channel/minnowsunite

Also come by and check out Steemprentice to receive mentoring and guidance on all your Steemit needs!
https://steemit.chat/channel/steemprentice

Sort:  

Heya. Been awhile since we spoke. I mentioned you in closing on my latest post about "The book..." Why? Because when I was looking for an image of someone from my past your pictures from some of your steemit post kept coming up. Not sure how the two of us (you and I) intersect with this person from the Druidiactos, but I did find it pretty interesting to say the least.

I've just responded to your post, I enjoyed the read! The crossing of our paths with this character is indeed intriguing. It all points directly to my introduction post, so I'm not sure exactly.

My father used to mention Tadhg MacCrossan a lot as well in reference to the Druidism things. His name is a bit more common on the internet. My father committed suicide in either 1994 and my first son his Grandchild was born in April of 1994, so he died sometime in the months before April. I don't remember the specifics because we were not super close and he was not the father who raised me. My last name Winblood is from my adoption by my Step Father who raised me and I consider my Dad.

I have a feeling this would make an awesome song, great stuff!

Thank you very much. I have begun to extend this, quite a bit, and plan on recording it over a hip-hop instrumental. :) This piece has a lot of meaning to me, and I want to try and push this song to its limits. So far I'm at 33 lines, straight through with no hook/chorus and I'm only at 1:37 of 4minutes

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63792.82
ETH 2563.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66