Who? (part 1)

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

Hi all.

I wasn't really keen on doing anything tonight, but posting on here beats boredom, doesn't it?

I'm not even sure I want to keep this up anymore, as the topics I post about are barely seen/read, let alone popular.

Still, many thanks to those who read and comment on my posts, it is much appreciated.

Anyhoo, I found another poem from my teen days (yay?) that I translated into English for you. I'm gonna post the translation of the poem as close as it appears in the original in Macedonian.

as it has been seventeen years since I've written this one, I can't really remember what inspired me to write it, but it can't have been pleasant, judging by the word choice and overall emotion. It must have been something school-related, as my life back then was pretty much bookish and homework-ish.

who knows.

Source

Who?

Some questions
I cannot answer

It wasn’t long ago when I could walk
when I could see the lonely over the visible,
when I knew to lead my spirit through endurance,
the spirit of wandering,
of shipwrecked things
the spirit buried, nailed on a century of loneliness

Yes, I really could walk, I even started running,
but why did I start crawling,
why does mud soak my pant legs,
the sun doesn’t know, nor the sky, nor Mercury,
just a few people I don’t know.

The footsteps rumbling behind me
aren’t mine nor yours,
but somebody’s
don’t ask whose,
we may be heard by their owner

It wasn’t long ago when I could walk,
and don’t ask,
or else,
back to the start.

21 June 2001

-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-+-

Now, I may not have the time to tear into this poem and start deconstructing it like I did for this one right here.

But, time-permitting, I'll try to rework it and show multiple versions of the process .

In the meantime, enjoy your day!

Sort:  


Welcome to Steemit @akiofthemitovski!

I wish you much success and hope you find Steemit to be as rewarding and informative as I have.

Here are some links you might find useful.
Your stats on SteemNow
Your stats on SteemWorld
Your stats on SteemD
How to use Minnow Booster
How does Steemit actually work?

Introbot is hosted and managed with donations from @byColeman to help make your journey on Steemit truly rewarding. Your feedback is always welcome so that we may improve this welcome message.
Oh yea, I have upvoted you and followed you. Many blessings from @introbot & @bycoleman

Welcome to a fellow Bitcoin enthusiast,akiofthemitovski!! I hope you will enjoy your time here on Steem! Look forward to your upcoming posts, mate!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59120.07
ETH 2921.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79