First encounter: Silence (Poetry)

in #poetry7 years ago

Source


I stay. I try to wake you up, using words at first. It doesn’t work. No matter the warnings. I tell you, I’m only human, there’s only so much I can resist. But if you are going to play dead next to me, do not expect me not to touch you.

And I touch you.

Cursing you all the fucking time. Loving you all the fucking time. I caress all of you, hours pass. I touch your eyelids, your eyebrows, your lashes. Your lips, I could melt over them. I graze my fingertips over your skin, over your neck, your ears, your arms, your hands and fingers. Every inch of skin I could see, I touched it. Including your toes.

But for real you are pretty much dead. And I wrote a poem in my head while you were gone.

It was a good day. It did change after all.


               Carved in marble

Here you lay

                                Soft skin present

     But you are dead

                                            I will use this time

to drown 

    to fall

        to burn

            to fly

                                                      to love



     I touch 

                          Oh ever so lightly!

My soul on my fingertips

                      seeking and finding

                                  tracing all of your paths 

        Oh ever so careful!

                           to not disturb

                            what you are

                                                      I will use this time

to cry

   to miss

      to long

         to yearn

                                     to imagine


  I feel

        too much so

  I crumble as

         I sink into

                           these soft spots

                                                                                       hidden in my heart

                    the ones you discovered

                                                  so easy

                                                      so fast

           going through me

           on me

           in me

                                                       I will use this time

to scream

    to learn

       to feel

                                    to be



free



                                                              alive

Sort:  

Genial, ahora estoy mareado.
Good job.

That's just karma.

I LOVE THIS SO MUCH I COULD SCREAM.
I'm honestly you biggest fan
You're doing amazing sweetie <3

Thank you woman. Don't scream though XD ts ok.

The formatting did it for me.

If you want to work on polishing your writing there are some great poets that hangout on The Writer’s Block discord.

Your stuff is good. They’ll help turn your gold nugget into fine jewelry.

Hahaha thank you <3 Are you on that server? Can you DM me the invitation?

I’ll make sure to do that when I get some free time today!

Brilliant. Isn't it amazing how artistic words can be, not just when you put them together letter by letter, but how you put them side by side, strung together into a sentence and spaced into an art piece. :D

Thank you <3

The emotions in this poem flow like water from a bank. Crashing and falling,

This is sad and beautiful a piece. <3
If the dead could talk, they will ask that we keep them in heart but move on still.

Thanks! I'm glad you liked it :D

Tan profunda que me llego hacer latir muy rápido el corazón, éxitos..

Wonderful! You spread the words out perfectly

Poetic ! The dead stay dumb

This post has been selected for curation by @msp-curation by @sunravelme. It has been upvoted and will be featured in this week's Working Title post. It will also be considered for the official @minnowsupport curation post and if selected will be resteemed from the main account. Feel free to join us on Discord!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Agnikana from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63525.26
ETH 2583.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80