You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Trenza - Braid - Original poem - 100 days poetry challenge day 32

in #poetry7 years ago (edited)

This week for critique class we have to offer a critique on a poem. I am choosing yours. Guy, the guy who runs the critique class told us that we should pick a poem we really enjoy for critique, because if we give our time to something we find worthwhile it is a lot better than critiquing something we could care less about. I really enjoyed your poem.

For me the poem was kind of broken into two sections the first being the section with the left-hand margin justification the second being the centered text. I really enjoyed the left justified portion and the enjambment before the word 'Sometimes'. For me it was creating a sort of braiding effect. But the second portion of the poem which is centered seemed to lose the effect, and I couldn't tell if this was done purposefully. I guess it could be seen as maybe a braid coming undone, because the rest of the poem from there kind of seems like it spreads out and takes many different directions. If this is the case though, I think maybe playing with some centering and then some left justification and then maybe even some right justification may have Illustrated this a little better.

Also you have the word I interspersed in lowercase and capitalized instances. For me, I was unsure of what effect you were trying to create, and therefore it was more of a distraction then if you would have left all the I capitalized. I think the piece itself is so strong and so many of the other techniques like enjambment were used so purposefully that the lowercase 'I' came across as kind of willy-nilly. Although, if the braid is indeed coming undone this could be a signifier of such.

I really liked what you did with repetition. Sometimes, being the most obvious worked for me as a transition and a way to weave. Also the use of no periods (for the left justified portion; until the final period of that portion) worked towards this transition effect as well. For me though the restrained repetition of the word cup and pink were the most powerful used. The symbolism inherent in both of those words translated well into forming imagery in my mind. The repetition drew my attention and allowed me to read a further depth into the symbolism.

I like the play on kisses and bites.

To be honest, I'm not entirely sure what the second portion of the poem is saying, I enjoyed quite a bit of it, but there was also something that kind of confused me. I was unsure exactly what was being said. I think the reason for this is because the ending seemed a little abrupt. Especially because it uses the word jarring, like it was purposefully abrupt, and if so I didn't understand why it needed to be abrupt. Maybe it was like the split ends at the end of a braid.

I did like how you used the symbolism of the poet and words themselves in the second portion, but I was unsure as to what exactly you were saying about this. I did get the sense you were saying something about weaving words and creation, but for me the thought was somewhat incomplete.

Overall, I enjoyed this poem immensely. I think part of the charm is that I didn't fully understand it, and that I can return to it and read it over and over and glean little secrets every time. I do think the second half could be polished in a way that would make it more impactful, and would suggest you play around with editing it a bit to see if you can make it shine even more.

Great job. Thanks for such a beautiful piece of work.

Sort:  

Thank you for taking into consideration my creation for your literary criticism exercise, dear @acousticsteveo. For me it is a great honor. I admire the way you penetrate not only in meanings, but in form. Both are intertwined in this poem. I feel you have many successes, the braid has to do with the union of the lyric speaker to the world he has lived, to his own inner world, to his roots, which somehow is not strong. The braid symbolizes the desire to tie, without really linking, the possibility of creating ties that center it, without losing freedom. That being and not being, that defines her feeling the distance of her environment, makes her withdrawn and even indifferent, because she enjoys, in the end, the freedom that she defends, even at the expense of herself, of her desires and feelings.

Oh my God, my comment was a mess. I went back and edited a bit. This is what happens when you use voice to text and then post without editing because you're in a time crunch situation. LOL. Please don't take my sloppy comment as an indicator of my regard for your poetry. This was my favorite poem of the week.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60582.22
ETH 2368.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65