MIND'S PRISON

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

mind-2730685_960_720.png


An existential quest to be free,
How to be human and not to be.
The jailer clanks the Iron gates,
Breath fumes like rusted metal.

Should've known you were the one,
The ghost of many faces.
Hovering like troubled smoke,
Checking to see if I am woke.

A dialogue between split thoughts,
The struggle for the inner light.
Peeking outside the Prison Box.
Caught a glimpse, a reflection of god.

The thought walls of my own making,
Mind's crust reshaping as tectonic shift.
This is my Shawshank redemption,
Thinking through my own shit.

Join these awesome communities

The Alliance footer Michael David.png
img source

Sort:  

The mind's a troublesome thing. I sometimes wonder if one could forgo having a mind - if it were possible in the first place - and be able to relish peace of mind or anything else, for that matter.

Unfortunately One cannot experience thoughts without the mind. I don't even think its possible to think outside the mind, I guess the only way is by expanding the walls of the mind to achieve higher thoughts and actions. Thanks for reading my poem

Beautiful poem...Hovering like troubled smoke,
Checking to see if I am woke.
....wonderful

Thanks for the compliment. am glad you liked it :-)

Nice man! You might want to look at my installation. It's not exactly the same subject but it's also about mind prison https://steemit.com/art-installation/@haedre/the-inner-cell-an-art-installation-in-a-former-gdr-prison

Wow. nice work there. the patterns are so hypnotic.

Beautiful and powerful poetry

Thanks for appreciating my poetry. :-).

:-) that is the reason I write, to resonate with people. am glad you enjoyed it

Wonderful post! I think the idea of our own mind being a prison is something we can all relate to--and you’ve put it to words so beautifully.

yeah. thought patterns can become strongholds on the mind, thanks for the compliment.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by abmakko from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

a dialog between split thoughts..... tell me ...dont tell me.
shawshank is the new orange.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64724.80
ETH 3460.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51