Poetic-surge Poetry Contest #1 (Breathing Still)

in #poetic-surgecontest7 years ago (edited)

This is my very first poetry blog on Steemit. It's been a very long time since I wrote any so I'm feeling both excited and also a tad vulnerable. But you know what I think about such feelings by now - "Put It Out and Let The World Decide"! So here we go . . .

This poem is my entry into the first poetry-surge contest set up by @tony-duke so big thanks to him.


The theme for this week is emptiness.

IMG_0118.JPG

Breathing Still


I pitched straight into emptiness
When they told me you were dead,
Whispering among themselves
Too young, too soon, they said.

I barely heard their mutterings
All substance ebbed away.
I stood there, just an empty shell
All colour turned to grey.

There were no words to comfort me.
I was no longer there.
No arms could hold my crumbling soul,
The truth too much to bear.

For many months as time stood still
I held myself apart.
I let my spirit fade away
To ease my aching heart.

'til slowly, gently, life returned
My soul began to fill.
My love for you returned to flame
And found me breathing still.

Sort:  

Sounds good enough for me... :)
Good luck!!

Thank @ackhoo. Now I've done one I'm ready to do more! 😍

Exquisite execution for being so late to party ;-)

Thank you. I only found the competition today! 😊

Very nicely done. How did that feel? It sounds wonderful, did it feel as good?

Sorry. I don't understand. Did it feel as good as what?

Writing your first poetry in a very long time. Not particularly clear on my part.

Oh I see. Yes. It felt really good. Thanks for asking. I'm looking forward to writing more!

Hi @gillianpearce 😀 You have the talent. 😀

Fill the emptiness with love. 💖

Thank you! 😍

You are most welcome! 😀 Happy Steeming! 😀😀😀

From your beginning verb I was compelled to read on. Lovely poem.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

This post received a 4.200 SBD (53.84%) upvote from @upvotewhale thanks to @gillianpearce! For more information, check out my profile!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57028.16
ETH 2358.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40