Hi I’m KaliKat – Welcome to my life in poems - 6

in #poems8 years ago

Time for a giggle

This poem was written around 2002 – when I had finally woken up to myself.
As pointed out in earlier posts, my first marriage was far from ideal... In fact it was pretty crap, but I was in it for the long haul.

One of my mother’s favourite sayings was “you made your bed, now sleep in it” it’s a pity that rule didn’t apply to my x-husband as well – My x had a total of 11 affairs that I knew of during our 25 years of marriage.
They would range from a few weeks to a few years, one was a recurring affair over around 10 years with his bosses girlfriend and then wife.

I’d asked him to leave on a number of occasions, which he did, but I always took him back. You know the “I’m so sorry baby, I promise I’ll never do it again, I don’t love them I only love you” spiel, well I was a total sucker for it, plus, I loved him or I thought I did, I was just never enough for him...

This poem was written when I had finally had enough of the affairs, the deceit and the constant wondering what diseases he would be bringing home, protection on his part was unheard of.

I had finally worked out I didn’t actually deserve to be the doormat or the port that he would come home too when the seas got a little rough.

Much to his disgust I wasn’t falling for his lines anymore – over the years I had gone back to school and educated myself and subsequently found a well-paid and secure job. I had the confidence to take the leap and go it alone, hell, he was hardly home anyway.

This time I didn’t ask him to leave – I packed up his things and drove them to his friends house. He practically lived there anyway – it was the “not so” secret rendezvous location for his latest conquests.

I pulled up and dumped his stuff in the front yard, then went inside and calmly told him I’d brought him his stuff so there was no need for him to come home as the wasn’t welcome there anymore. I also told his latest girlfriend, who was sitting at the table, that she could keep him.

This was the best decision I had made during our marriage.

For now please enjoy the next poem, I loved writing this...

Married Men

For those married men experiencing some sexual frustration,
You should engage the age-old art of gentle masturbation.
This eases stress, relieves the load, and doesn't take too long,
And at least you have a family to which you still belong.
On the other hand the chance might be, you want a little more,
But then you’re caught off guard quietly slipping through the door.
So off you go and have your fun and frolic on the rocks,
Then sneaking home you reach the door but the bitch has changed the locks!
Your wife is gone, the kids are gone, she even took the cat,
Was that short burst of sexual pleasure really worth all that?
She's sold the house and furniture, it's not what you had planned.
But I told you at the start of this, you should have used your hand!!!

One would think that this would be the end of what I thought was the worst experience of my life… little did I know that the past had been a walk in the park compared to what life had in store for me next… turns out the worst experience of my life was just about to begin.

What I mistakenly discovered just over a year later would forever change who I was and how I saw the world, but that’s another story in another post... we’ll get to that in time..

Hope you can join me tomorrow for another poem in the life of KaliKat.

Cheers
KaliKat

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 61113.87
ETH 2682.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46