##Fire Side

in #poems8 years ago


Hello again Steemians, KaliKat here...
This poem was written in 1993, for my daughter one cold and rainy day, she was 4 and wanted a poem written just for her but I was a little tired.
She had gone to the trouble of drawing a picture of me and my cat on a piece of paper. It was on this paper I wrote the poem... The original poem is pictured...
###Fire Side
As I lay beside the fire,
I can hear the softest sound.
I think it might be raining,
but I can't see it hit the ground.
It's early in the morning,
and outside it's cold and wet.
I'll have to go out later,
but there's house work to do yet.
It's so warm beside the fire,
with my cat right next to me.
The radios playing softly,
and I've made a cup of tea.
Did I mention house work?
There's floors to wash and sweep!
But it's so warm beside the fire,
I might just lay down here and sleep.

Hope you enjoyed that...
The next 2 poems that I post will be about my children, then we'll get into the meaty stuff.. :)
As I said in my intro, there is a variety of styles and subjects.. Heres hoping you all stick around.. :)

Cheers
KaliKat

Sort:  

A poem is
From time to time
Giving others insight
Into someones life
The rhyme, the verse
The story unfold a pic in the mind
Telling stories so vivid, a tool of mankind

Best post ever seen on steemit upvoted for you. if have some seconds please review my post https://steemit.com/nature/@simranverma/amazing-footage-shows-hawaii-volcano-smiling

Thanks very much... I visited your link, all I can say is "amazing" thanks for sharing.. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 60930.84
ETH 2666.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44