Myfanwy by John BetjemansteemCreated with Sketch.

in #poemchallenge6 years ago (edited)

Here's my humble submission for the Steemit Friday #Poemchallenge by @margaretwise, (Thanks for doing the contest!) from 4/20/2018. Enjoy.

Myfanwy

Kind o’er the kinderbank leans my Myfanwy,
White o’er the playpen the sheen of her dress,
Fresh from the bathroom and soft in the nursery
Soap scented fingers I long to caress.

Were you a prefect and head of your dormit'ry?
Were you a hockey girl, tennis or gym?
Who was your favourite? Who had a crush on you?
Which were the baths where they taught you to swim?

Smooth down the Avenue glitters the bicycle,
Black-stockinged legs under navy blue serge,
Home and Colonial, Star, International,
Balancing bicycle leant on the verge.

Trace me your wheel-tracks, you fortunate bicycle,
Out of the shopping and into the dark,
Back down the avenue, back to the pottingshed,
Back to the house on the fringe of the park.

Golden the light on the locks of Myfanwy,
Golden the light on the book on her knee,
Finger marked pages of Rackham's Hans Anderson,
Time for the children to come down to tea.

Oh! Fullers angel-cake, Robertson’s marmalade,
Liberty lampshade, come shine on us all,
My! what a spread for the friends of Myfanwy,
Some in the alcove and some in the hall.

Then what sardines in half-lighted passages!
Locking of fingers in long hide-and-seek.
You will protect me, my silken Myfanwy,
Ring leader, tom-boy, and chum to the weak.

From "Old Lights for New Chancels" (1940) & "Collected Poems"

© The Estate of John Betjeman

Reproduced by kind permission of John Murray (Publishers).
(Here's the link:
http://www.johnbetjeman.com/poetry.html)

DAFFODILS IN THE CHURCH YARD.jpg


HERE is a spectacular find, a youtube reading of this poem!
Myfanwy by John Betjeman (read by Tom O'Bedlam):


My background regarding this poem and why I chose it for this contest ...

I had a friendship, kindof an affair, with an older British gentleman (if there is such a thing, ha ha) a few years ago. Mostly we were friends. I met him when I was working as a part time grocery checker for the local Venture Foods in Cripple Creek, Colorado - Gerry was one of the locals and a regular customer. He was pretty important, helping me cope with post breakdown life. He was pretty much the only person who reached out to me, and he did so when I really needed a friend. In truth, it was more like, I was drowning and he threw me a lifeline! He was always kind to me, and I am forever grateful for him. There have been a few times in my life since then when I was facing some big challenges and I thought of Gerry. Which gave me strength and courage to manage a few of these and make some healthy decisions that I might not otherwise have made.

'Gerry wiv a G' had the most amazing sea green eyes when he was able to relax and come out of himself, which kindof reminds me of my dad. My dad has the greenest eyes on the planet, with eyes that are like evergreen trees. Gerry and I would get together at his old house in Victor and trade/share music, taking turns playing songs for each other. It was an opening place for me to start healing and getting over the debilitating anxiety I was dealing with, 'cause (by coincidence?) he had gone through something similar. He went back to England, I think two years ago now. I had a standing offer to go visit and I always thought I would like to follow through with that someday - he lives on the coast. Of course I would need a passport and probably a friend... someone more than a friend - I've had visions of actually making that visit someday, and I'm not alone. Penzance, England is his city, which is actually none other than old Cornwall. (Cornwall is the city that Morgan Le Fey inherited (the castle, TINTAGEL) as the sister of King Arthur. At least, according to Marian Zimmer Bradley)! He's also very close to a place called Lyme Regis, a beach where amazing ammonite fossils are found. Gerry promises to make the tea, with a teapot over an open fire on the beach.

amonite.jpg

I've been thinking of writing more about my friend Gerry. I am hoping he might have a major role creating solutions for our 'transportation problem' on New Earth, which I will say more about soon. When we first met, this was his pet name for me - Myfanwy. It means 'Beloved' in old Welsh. I was thus introduced to John Betjeman the poet, with a live reading or two from Gerry. Or Ger Bear (pronounced 'jair bear'), as I used to call him.

gerry.jpg

mistyruins.jpg

LR 4/22/2018


Background on this poet:

John Betjeman's enduring appeal/The Guardian:
The Last Laugh
https://www.theguardian.com/books/2006/feb/25/poetry.johnbetjeman

Photographs!
Daffodils in Penzance churchyard, sent to me by Gerry
Ammonite fossil from Google Images
Photo of Gerry and the misty ruins of Gold Hill, outside of Victor, Colorado on a spring day - I took these myself.

For more yummy posts follow me or check out my blog at @mymoontao.

loreavatar2.jpg

Sort:  

Poetry arises from a particular sensitivity and relation to the world.

Great writing, thank you @margaretwise

unknown.png.png

https://steemit.com/poemchallenge/@margaretwise/poemchallenge-results-by-margaretwise-poetry-is-a-way-of-looking-at-the-world

Wondered if you've heard the sung version by David Essex?
blipper ( another Englishman)

Forgot the link--

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66254.46
ETH 3319.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69