Tales from the Crypt - Undertaken - Poetry from The Captain's Chair - The U.S.S. Minnowprize!

in #poem6 years ago



We never asked for this dark fate.
He comes and goes, never late.
Death at the door, knocking gently.
Fear the step, listen intently.

All the trees are gone and dead.
We chopped them all to feed his dread.
Tap tap tap goes hammer and nail.
Building another coffin.

Markers laid out as far as you can see.
We've buried them all now.
Wait, hark, what is this?
I'm alone, lost in this sea.

Bloody and ravaged my hands blister and tear.
Tapping together that last piece.
Use my blood as glue, brittle god.
Take me at last, give me release.

For if I'd thought, if only I'd known.
The Undertaker was me, all along.
I knew his touch, his grasp, his stare.
Through the ages past, family friends were lost.

Buried them all one by one.
Took the father, took the son.
I measured them all, boxed up fast.
All the way down to the last.

My hole is dug, home is bare.
Silk lining on oaken boards.
Pull the trigger, drop the rocks.
I the fasteners in the locks.

Soft thud's all to hear.
As I lie down with all that's dear.
Leave my journal between clasped hand.
As my body slowly turns to sand.
Such sweet dreams.





We hope you like what we brought to the Blockchain today! Please leave your comments and feedback in the comments, we love to hear it!

Stay tuned to our page for Microscopic Mondays, drone shenanigans, poetry, 360 VR footage, 3D prints, and the occasional chuckle!

Much love, @sammosk and @stitchybitch! <3

Sort:  

This is really great poetry, especially

For if I'd thought, if only I'd known.
The Undertaker was me, all along.
I knew his touch, his grasp, his stare.
Through the ages past, family friends were lost.
It's very true about this world and it's reality.

This is deep, powerful but sad at the same time. I think this one has to be my favorite stanza.

All the trees are gone and dead.
We chopped them all to feed his dread.
Tap tap tap goes hammer and nail.
Building another coffin.

WOW!!! I thought the word play here was fantastic. Especially the first two lines. I'm a sucker for metaphors and such, I know. lol.

Well, I'm glad you're a sucker for it and enjoyed it so much! I worked kind of hard on it and comments like this make my day! <3
Thank you for the lovely words!

It's really good @sammosk. I enjoy reading such pieces, it's time well spent. I know exactly what you are saying, It's hard work indeed. Looking forward to many such wonderful poems in the future.

Me too. It was beautiful

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

That audio doesn't do it justice.

Creepy but good.
Almost reminded me of my horror story.

It is. I published it on Amazon and Smashwords. What you just heard was a teaser

Wow nice art work lovely

waw...very nice

This post has received votes totaling more than $50.00 from the following pay for vote services:

smartsteem upvote in the amount of $50.25 STU, $69.93 USD.
appreciator upvote in the amount of $44.25 STU, $61.58 USD.
therising upvote in the amount of $35.62 STU, $49.58 USD.
promobot upvote in the amount of $35.06 STU, $48.80 USD.

For a total calculated value of $165 STU, $230 USD before curation, with a calculated curation of $41 USD.

This information is being presented in the interest of transparency on our platform and is by no means a judgement as to the quality of this post.

Hello, I have followed you and have a vote on Steemit, follow me, I have a private blog about coffee, maybe you like, you will understand and know more about coffee every day, Thank you, Make a great community. Best regards

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63184.34
ETH 2560.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72