Childhood's End

in #poem8 years ago

This is a poem from a school World War I/ANZAC lesson when I was 13 years old. It’s taken from the point of view of a young soldier, sailing out of port. It’s a little primitive, but it was the first poem I was ever proud of.

Childhood’s End
I’m standing here waving to the crowd,
Somewhere in there is my wife.
I know that I’m heading to a war,
But a war, I don’t know what it’s like.

I’m here standing on a troop ship,
It’s now too late to turn back.
On the outside I’m quite excited.
On the inside I want to go back.

This boat is taking forever,
It started departing half an hour ago.
I have a long journey still ahead,
I must say bye now, I have to go.

©Richard Mather-Fry, 1998.

Sort:  

Congratulations @rtmfry! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard and the Veterans on Steemit - The First Community Badge.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @rtmfry! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58668.45
ETH 3162.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44