You Do Not Love Me [Poem]

in #poem6 years ago (edited)

You Do Not Love Me

Loving you
is like attempting
to live on the sun
– never a happy ending.

Saw red flags waving
yet I ignored,
had a clear exit
but I blocked it out.

Been trying to get you to love me
the same way I love you,
giving you my all,
you must think I am a fool.

Last night,
the expression on your face
remained indifferent,
even as you were inside me.

I lie in bed with you,
upset, put hands
on your chest,
warmth escapes my palms.

My eyes glance at your face,
it is staring at the wall.

Now I know,
you are just a man
without a heart.


This post has been posted on Poetry by Jeremy

Update: This poem has been chosen for my weekly series, and now has a video Spoken Word Poem #3: You Do Not Love Me

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @poetrybyjeremy to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Really controversial poem my friend. I liked it a lot. Will include it in the daily episode for sure... God Bless . Peace and Love.

You have been visited by the Steem Poets United Community Bot. Thank you for your participation in the community.
Your post has been Included into the Steemit Poets United: Daily Dose of Poetry and Prose #6 .
P.S.If you want to support our project upvote this comment, donate STEEM,SBD or Delegate Steem Power to me... It will be used to support all the members of this new community. Thanks.

This is cool, I like the way the character accepts that there were warning signs that got ignored. it graduates from sadness to acceptance of the person who doesn't love.

Yes, thank you! We all first experience our feelings, but then we get to think and reflect of the thoughts and feelings of the other person as well.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63585.64
ETH 3035.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84