Stepping Across

in #poem6 years ago (edited)

Okay, so I decided to put another of my free verse poems on here. It's another one that I thought came a pretty good. I hope that everyone enjoys it also.

Stepping Out - small copy.jpg

I anxiously wait to begin,
shivers over my whole body.
My fate may depend on this.
I must decide wisely.
The first step is critical,
and must be cautious and true.
There could be many obstacles,
but if I watch and listen carefully,
I should survive.
I proceed cautiously, constantly
scanning for pending disasters.
As I am halfway to success,
a previously unseen problem.
I narrowly escape, but survive.
It makes my heart skip a beat.
After, what seems like hours,
it’s time for the final step.
My body and soul fill
with pleasure and satisfaction.
I have done it, I am finished.
My normal breathing resumes.
For the first time in my life,
I have crossed the street alone.

johnwjr7.png

Sort:  

What an amazing piece. I really did enjoy reading this. Keep the good work up.

Thank you. Free verse is rather new to me, but I think the few that I have done came out pretty well. I have another posted now and will probably post another of my older ones soon. I need to get inspired to write newer ones though.

I really enjoyed ur poem. I think a lot of vets can relate to it. Why are you not in the Vet Discord yet? You have a whole community waiting for you.

I thought I was.
What is the link?

Congratulations! Your post has been Scouted by @lexikon082 for the Got Your Six Contest. Click the link below for more information.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58444.83
ETH 2537.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49