AN ENCOUNTER... - An Original Poem

in #poem8 years ago

I once had an encounter
with a man in the desert.

In his hand, a message
his clothes ragged.

In his eyes, an aimlessness
the thousand-yard stare,
but somehow that aimlessness
hid a purpose laid bare.

I knew not what to think of him
I knew not what to say to him.

But I knew that he didn't belong here
for he had discovered his purpose.

I could not but stare at him
gasp and wonder
where he came from
what was his message.

I knew from the instant
that he was not just a messenger.

He was something more
something that did not belong
in this crooked, dark,
bleak and purposeless world.

A remnant of a better world,
a warner of the future.

A souvenir of the world that could have been
a glimpse of the world that could be.

He passed me by
and disappeared, out of sight,
in the dusts of the desert,
in the sands of time.


SOURCE: 1 2

Sort:  

Wow! Very impressive work, very lean and clean and the imagery is great (even without the photo)!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58981.78
ETH 2669.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44