Five of Cups

in #poem6 years ago (edited)

fiveofcups.jpg

Original Content

Approaching this game with you
Has left me in a state of loss
Seduction has never been my strong suit
I simply grow on you, like moss.
That's a bad metaphor for someone
That is trying to win your affection
Yet if we're talking words, I have none
Only bad jokes, riddled with imperfection
We spent the day on the sand
Listening to waves crash against the shore
I noticed the smoothness, the size of your hands
Eager for them to touch more
Yet I feel like the waves, tumultuous tide
Reaching to grab you, but slipping away
I creep up closer, there's nowhere to hide
It's a game I don't want to play.
I was hoping it'd be clear
What your intentions were with me
If you'd take the time to really hear
Or if you'd take the time to see
I try to be transparent, like glass
So as not to leave you in wonder
Letting each moment build, never pass
Until the moment swells, like thunder
And then it's loud, its presence felt
No mistaking what you hear
And all the pain indulgent summer dealt
With the rain will disappear
My ocean is deep, and it is wide
If you cared to swim and explore.
Filled with salty tears I've cried
For those who hurt me before
For loves lost, and lessons learned
For memories left to rot in dust
For embers, and ashes of fires that burned
For lies, for limerence, for lust
I'm hoping that in this short time frame
You'll feel the same for me
That at night you'll be thinking my name
And not just repeating Kailani
So maybe as I move towards you
Like the waves upon the sand
I'll find a way to break through
And move my waters inland
I can only hope so much
That this will be a sweet end
And that if it doesn't, if it ends as such
At least your heart will mend
So as you patch up the holes she left
On your shy, melancholy heart
You will wash away all love bereft
And make a brand new start
I cannot guarantee that you'll feel the same for me
But maybe if you were open
My waves would set you free
And you wouldn't feel so heartbroken
Over a love that washed away
Instead you'd close your eyes, and float
With me another day.

Image courtesy of https://www.buildingbeautifulsouls.com/tarot-card-meanings/minor-arcana/suit-cups/five-of-cups-tarot/

Sort:  

Congratulations @calanandino! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Presentamos el Ranking de SteemitBoard

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Beautiful! I love how Tarot's Five of Cups inspired this poem. I was just talking to @raj808 earlier today about his poetry and art project. (more on that in a minute - gotta chase down a link.)
I don't know how I missed your post and @mysticmaya's before the 7-day upvote window expired. Here I am Late to the Party as always.

Congratulations @calanandino! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62581.77
ETH 2546.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75