Path of Exile - It's time for another league and another competition

in #poecomp6 years ago (edited)


Path Of Exile.jpg
Incursion.jpg

It's been 3 months, and on June 1 the new league begins. As happened last month, @mattclarke is running a competition for all who want to have a bit of fun and maybe win some Steem along the way.

Full instructions on how to enter and how to configure your account so others can see your character are in his post here

Last season I played as a ranger, but this time around, I'm thinking I'll go with something a little less ranged for the 3 day sprint.

Over the last few weeks I've been slowly playing a Scion with Static Strike in the current event that is running alongside the end of the Beastiary league, which has been a wonderful reminder of all the variety of things that have existed in Path of Exile's history. The flashback event allows for each map to be populated by up to 3 of the past league mechanics, as well as Beastiary being active throughout. If others are looking for a fun practice play, it's been quite good. I'm almost up to the first prize level for it also, which was my goal.


A Footer - Ratticus Upgoats Transparent Background.png
Upgoats made by the talented @ryivhnn

Sort:  

Oh I don’t think I’ve ever played Scion I wish you good luck! I just started playing range I think for first time last night. Spent a fair amount on some leveling gear on softcore and I’m running 4 levels under the zones! Not something I would ever do on hardcore let alone as a league starter but I wanted to try something new. I might try a couple other classes for fun as well since we have less then two weeks left.

That's pretty much how I ended up playing ranger last comp. That and the ranger bonus. Range is, well, not really my play style, so I was stoked to not die.

If I was competing, I think I'd go a templar necromancer. Those zombies are just crazy potent.
I found tabula rasa at level 19 (dropped by Kraityn on the broken bridge) so they've been running with 5 support gems ever since.
Necromantic Aegis with a big, solid shield makes them pretty much bulletproof. I also lucked out with vaal raise skeleton which I've supported with increased duration.
By the time my skeleton army vanishes they've killed enough mobs to fire off the skill again.

damn they're some nice drops to get, especially so early. Getting the static strike gem, and then deciding to switch to it from lightning strike (I think that's the one, bunch of lightning dam things infront of you) was a massive difference. went from crawling through zones to monsters melting. Was quite the upgrade

You mean Lightning tendrils?
You want to make the change to new skills around Malachai. There's just so much great new stuff.
I'm rocking Cremation at the moment. Turns a corpse into a volcano.
I'd like to combine it with a single target, heavy damage, long distance option so I can drop a mob when I first see the pack, and cremate him so his friends all have to walk through it, but not sure which way to go.
That ghost guy, Siosa? in the library is great for gems, he basically has them all I think. Separate tabs for green, red and blue gems.

Yeah, that's the one. it was fun, but not that effective. I do have a lightning strike now also, but haven't used it.

I do recall a few locations getting showers of gems, and the library sounds like it would be good theme location for them. Can't recall the ghost's name either, so lets just go with Siosa until I get there again :)

Sadly the game was crashing repeatedly last night while I was trying to level. Think it died about 3 times in as many hours

One cool hack I found was vortex with totem support. You can drop up to 3 concurrent blackholes under the mobs.

hehe, nice. I'm in that phase where upgrades are being looked for constantly for the equipment. Biggest problem I seem to have is finding things that are clearly better and don't need me to change half my gear because of gem slots. I have however refined the character down in gem slot needs vs using just to level things...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62702.02
ETH 2572.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75