The first episode...

in #podcast4 years ago

For those who don't know, last Thursday I had my first live broadcast. What a rush..

I would like to actually start off by thanking r0nd0n, and the whole team of amazing hosts, hostesses and listeners at msp-waves, who not only welcomed me into this amazing loving community, but even tuned in to listen and support my first show... I cannot tell you what this means to me. I won't name any names, as I still don't remember everyone's handle, and I would not want to offend anyone, but I extend this thank you to all of you who take part in this amazing platform. It is partly thanks to you that I am even here.

I've never been a part of a network before..

The experiences I've had, have all been solo. Its a very different experience, with, I guess, pros and cons.
The reason I did everything on my own before was mainly because of my schedual. By schedual I mean circadian rythems.. I was up pretty late and that's when I do most of my work, and I wasn't much use to man nor beast in the morning (having a kid really helped with that..)
When I did things on my own, I could work whenever I wanted, didn't have to answer to anyone, and could start at stop on a whim.
Since I never had much of a following, I never had much responsibility. It also meant I had much less motivation...

But when I'm part of a network, that all changes.. For starters, I had 10 listeners to my first ever episode!! That's unreal..! I don't have 10 listeners at family dinners...

So I have a responsibility, to the listeners, and to the network whom I am part of, and are counting on me to the do the show..
The stakes are definitely higher... But also the reward. I had such understanding and support after the show, it's pretty wild having real people, who don't know me... Telling me it was a good show.. First time I ever experienced anything like it..

I must also just add, that part of being a slotted show, is also being on time. Start, and finish.
This was all the more nerve racking, as I was setting up half an hour before the show, and just as everything was ready, my mic switched its recording speed.. This resulted in my voice being distorted to sound like I'm making a ransom phone call... I had that happen to me once before on a podcast and it was unlistenable. I couldn't have my first show sounding like I was pretending to be Darth Vader...so I frantically put all my experience in digital sound, recording, audio setups and general know-how, and began repeatedly restarting the damn thing.. On and off, on and off, until finally, literally 20 seconds before the live broadcast, it suddenly worked! (I kid you not, I have the recording to prove it...)

How? Why? I have no idea, but it did mean I hit the ground running, and before I knew what was happening, it was to late to stop and I just went on with the show.

At the end of the broadcast my hands were shaking. Literally. I felt I had just been through an out of body experience, and had only just landed in my body again...

Wow, what a rush!

So thank you to all my wonderful listeners and supporters, I am forever indebted to you!

And if you'd like to catch the next live show, I'm going to be starting from the beginning:

What does 'disrupting the cost of living' really mean, and how on earth (get it?) are we going to do it? **


Join me on Thursday 22:00 UTC on the PAL Discord channel in the mspwaves audience room to join in the chat.
Or listen live at VimmTV or on msp-waves.

If you missed the last episode it's available on Dsound and 3speak.

Sort:  

You did a great job. Looking forward to the next episode.

Thank you so much!!
Coming fro a seasoned podcast et such as yourself, that really means a lot!

It was a great show, you came across really naturally, so it's all very much worthwhile!

And that's a great title for part 2, something I personally find very interesting.

Have you come across the Early Retirement Extreme concept btw - the book of that title by Jacob lund Fisker is one of my faves!

Looking forward to the next show.

@tipu curate

Thx so much! Was such a wonderful surprise seeing your name in the crowd..
Havent heard 9f the early retirement, will check it out now.. I've been loving your reading material so far..

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66363.68
ETH 3207.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27