You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Broken in the Culture Sector: A Communication Solution

in #podcast6 years ago

Interesting, using the web to decentralize and enfranchise. Bringing more voices and ideas to a richer conversation:

Because communication is much easier than it ever has been before, capitalization is not as important as it once was. ... by establishing a quality cultural product that people want it is possible to expand the cultural sector without spending an enormous amount of money.

I wonder if others agree that "capitalization is not as important as it once was."

Sort:  

I have to confess some discomfort with the holding up of decentralization as some sort of worthy endeavor. It seems to me like it's often a way to reify power structures while giving lip-service to democracy. For instance, I read recently about early liberal Americans (think "Loco Foco") and how they sought to up-end monopoly but how much of the legislation they advocated ended up being exploited by the people who had held those monopolies. It seems (to me) that cooperative and collaborative work around a common goal is more effective and interesting than a libertarian dispersal of assets and energy.

Which I guess is part of the @sndbox model and our own #explore1918 experiment, but I am wary of the "decentralizing" rhetoric nonetheless.

I think I agree that access to the internet as a means of decentralization to a degree mitigates the need to capitalize on the production and dissemination of history. I wonder, however, if instead of money, the new currency needed to do this is time? It takes time to conduct research, craft it into content, and then to produce it in whatever model you see fit. Might this be a complication for some seeking to enter the public history arena? I'd be interested in your thoughts on this.

Hmmm. How else to conjur up time except by freeing up some of it with other people's money?

Really, if there's another way to "make" time, I'm all ears.

I think you will still need other people's money to create time. However, it seems to take less money in order to secure the resources or access to means of production than before. Therefore people who wish to produce content in the cultural sector still have to find time or start early in order to produce something, but it is easier than before to put content out there once it is produced.

You had me at 1984.

Please bring the content to Steemit also, and not just an ad for the podcasts. :)

If you are truly looking for a way in which to decentralize academic output and empower the information seeker, this is the right platform.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29