Doing a Reverse Auction to get my hands on 250,000 POCKET (and it starts at 5 SBD)

in #pocket7 years ago (edited)

Pursuing my MLS Contest endeavour

I've just realized that if I want to keep my Major League Soccer Contest going (approximately on a weekly basis) until the end of the 2017 season, I need to get my hands on more of those limited POCKET tokens.

This is what's left of the 2017 schedule. Let's do the math.

Regular Season
4th edition - Sep 20, Sep 23 & Sep 24 (13 games)
5th edition - Sep 27 (8 games)
6th edition - Sep 30, Oct 1 & Oct 3 (12 games)
7th edition - Oct 7 & Oct 11 (4 games)
8th edition - Oct 15 & Oct 16 (11 games)
9th edition - Oct 22 (11 games)

Playoffs
10th edition - Oct 25 & Oct 26 (4 games)
11th edition - Oct 29, Oct 30 & Oct 31 (4 games)
12th edition - Nov 5 (4 games)
13th edition - Nov 21 (2 games)
14th edition - Nov 28 & Nov 30 (2 games)
15th edition - Dec 9 (1 game)

That would make 12 future contests. not counting the one still in progress.

Each of these MLS contests cost me a minimum of 103,500 POCKET. And with the 500 POCKET per eligible entry giveaways, the more participants there will be the more it will turn out to be costly.

I'm really happy about the fact that the participation in this contest has kept growing since day one (from 4 Steemians during the first week to 10 and then 11 for the second & third editions). And, that is why I feel it needs to keep the same POCKET rewarding formula.

I actually hold 689,777 POCKET and according to my estimate, the contest will make me spend at least 1,417,500 ([103,500x13weeks]+(12participantsx500x12weeks]) POCKET from now on to the beginning of December.

I am thus short by at least 727,723 (689,777 subtracted from 1,314,000) POCKET to my 2017 objective.

I'm finally getting at it. Next, is what you came here for.


The Reverse Auction

So my proposal here today is for a reverse auction starting at 5 SBD.

It will end 72 hours after this has been posted (meaning next Tuesday at 7:00 PM EDT).

Whoever asks for the lowest SBD price in exchange for 250,000 of his precious POCKET tokens will win the auction.

Simple as that.

I will then declare a winner and this person will proceed to send me the 250,000 POCKET.

Since everything will be done under this post, and thus transparent for the entire Steemit community to see, I will only send my SBD back in return once the full amount of 250,000 POCKET is received on my end.


For the rest of my will still be missing 477,723 (727,723-250,000) POCKET, I'll later find other creative ways to acquire them.


Other News in the POCKET World

For those who have missed the announcement, I've created a new Discord server as an unofficial gathering point for people who wish to chat about anything POCKET.

You can access it by clicking on the following link.


POCKET-Talks

pocket logo 2.jpg

*logo made (and free for everyone to use) by @foundation


Changes at POCKET-Talks

There have​ been some changes with the channels. All of them now have pocket in their names meaning they are mainly for POCKET-related conversations. Only two don't have the word, the # general one and the classic # posts-promotion where any topic-related Steemit post can go.

Four new chatting outlets have joined the POCKET-Talks channels family since my last post.

As I said, there is now:

# posts-promotion (https://discord.gg/AveS9kk)

Any (unrelated) post can be promoted here, including anything POCKET-related.

And also:

# pocket-bets (https://discord.gg/vKVFQ5N)

A channel for pocket-betting.

# pocket-bots (https://discord.gg/ctU4gRy)

This channel is for pocket-bots talks.

# pocket-lotteries (https://discord.gg/7auKw67)

Running or looking to participate in a POCKET lottery? Here is the place to be.

The roles have improved too. Now, everybody entering POCKET-Talks gets to be a talker. This will allow you to manage the other roles under it. You can choose to assign yourself the roles of hodler, buyer, and/or seller. This can act as a signal to others on your position on POCKET and it can also serve as a calling tool to address​ those people you might specifically wish to in offer or demand circumstances​.

Let's say you wish to sell some of your POCKET. You can go in the #pocket-auctions (https://discord.gg/3Mumvkk), or in #general in order to have a wider reach, and you can ask for all of the buyers (those who will have attributed to themselves this particular role) attention by simply adding a @buyerto your message.

If you have any questions​ feel free to ask here or there, at POCKET-talks. I'm easy to reach in both places.


ae284pj.jpg

*this logo made by @baus85 was paid for in POCKET tokens


Sort:  

Owners of large amounts of pocket tokens are already an elite group here on Steemit. It's less than 0.5% of the Steemit community! So I think it is time that we have our own Steemit nickname. How about sea otters? Those fun fellows actually have pockets in real life. Also pocket tokens are being used to play a lot of games here on Steemit and otters love to play. Let me know what the guys on the Discord channel think. 🙂 🅿️

That's a very fun and creative idea you just had! I bet someone could even make a drawing out of this wonderful concept! Have you joined the Discord channel already? Why don't you come and join our sea otters raft so that we can all talk about it together? :-)

Sounds good. Now all we need is for someone to draw us up a Game of Thrones style sigil and under our sea otter it can say in Latin, "We have the Pockets"

On my recent post, pockets have been selling around 5SBD per 100K.
I don't think many people will want to part with 250K for less than 5SBD.
Is this a reverse auction, or are you going up from 5?

I just saw the (two?) transactions you are referring to. Thanks for bringing it to my attention here. You read right, this is a reverse auction starting at 5 SBD and hopefully going lower. If nobody makes an offer here, there are two possibilities: either it's proof that not a lot of people pay attention to my posts or that you guys really have started to establish some kind of value for POCKET. My offer still stands at 5 SBD max. There are about 1,000 people holding POCKET on Steemit with all kind of different motivations. Let's see what happens. :-)

Really interesting isn't it?
I haven't seen much ongoing interest or many use cases, and people do have bills to pay.
Best of luck :)

Yes, it is!

Thanks! :-)

One question you can ask is; are people in because of the give-away?
Maybe it should be the other way around, pay 500 and you're in.
Also if you lower the prizes by half it still is attractive to play and a chanche to win a lot of POCKET!

Asking POCKET from participants for an entry in a contest which gives chances to win SBD (or Steem for that matter): that's an excellent idea! You're right, maybe it should be the other way around (me asking for an entry fee) since the creation phase is over! But lowering the prizes? I'm not sure since there are a couple of things to consider regarding the MLS Contest:

  • Soccer is far from being the most popular sports in the U.S. & in Canada where the MLS is located, and football is the most popular sport on the planet but MLS barely makes it the top 10 leagues in the world (I like to promote MLS as much as I do for POCKET since I'm a fan of the league; just making the precision before anyone suggest that I should change sport and/or league)
  • This is a relatively small contest (10 people could easily go back down to 4-5)
  • It's a brand new contest which I would like to sell the idea to people, and that is why I decided to give interesting prizes right from the start

Anyway, I might have to lower the prizes eventually if the contest ends up costing me to the point of running out of prizes to give. But I have a couple of ideas, such as handing out all kind of other coins prizes such as Synereo's AMP. Anyway, I'm definitely​ having fun with it. :-)

It were just suggestions.
Also not everybody has POCKET.
Mayby entry fee in POCKET or SBD and win POCKET and SBD?

I thought about it and I think I could reverse things and start charging at the beginning of the playoffs. I could mention this change in the six prior regular-season contests which would act as an incentive for people to get their hands on POCKET in preparation for the playoffs. I could flip from giving 500 to asking for the same amount (or 1,000 but then maybe I would have to up​ the prizes) in the other six playoff contests.

Thanks for the suggestions!

I like the ideas of charging opposite currency to win. So 500 pocket wins x SBD.
And maybe .5 SBD = x amount of pocket.
I may try implementing that concept in one of my contests. Great discussion for sure.
Together well figure it out! Keep thinking and growing. Try new ideas and get rid of ones that dont go so well. Hit me up anytime. Glad to help. I try and at least resteem everyones pocket posts. I think its goin great so far!!

I wanted to hit you up with a Golovkin beating Alvarez bet today, but I didn't have the time between making this post, watching my Montreal Impact losing to the Minnesota Loons, and tinkering with the POCKET-Talks Discord server. B.t.w., we were talking about you in there, today. Discussing all​ kind of POCKET ideas like we are doing here. @jackmiller suggested this very idea of, and let me quote: ''Pocket Token Sports betting page, with an SBD giveaway on each post''. That's when your name came up.

Glad I didn't follow up on my bet since Golovkin vs. Alvarez ended up in a draw! haha

Nice. Im gonna have to come join up. Definitely loving how its going so far!!!
I keep posting your contest when i remember ; )

Cool! Yes!! Thanks :-)

250k pocket for 5 SBD seems a bit low to me, other wise I would have made an offer. BTW, came here from your discord server.

Ok, thanks for the ​input!

Cool! Enjoy the server!

I was going to make an offer but everybody's saying it's not a good deal hahaha just kidding :P

I need to read more about these pockets...

Hahaha!

I can understand that! Guess I might have to do another auction after this one, but with a higher price.

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by heroic15397 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

I have 2.9 million.. oh what to do...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.031
BTC 60708.09
ETH 2619.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.58